Bailey’s Irish Cream Donuts

16 Mar

Hi everyone!  For the past week the blogosphere has been inundated with all things St. Patrick’s Day.  One thing I found on a few different sites that I found particularly interesting were the recipes for homemade Bailey’s.  While I’m not a hard alcohol kind of gal (let alone whiskey), I was really intrigued.  Bottling this up and bringing it to a St. Patrick’s Day party would be charming and all, but to be honest my brain immediately went the “what can I bake with this?” route.  All about the food I tell ya!  Then I remembered the donut pan I’ve had hidden in the darkest corner of my pantry for the past three months, and the rest was history.  Bailey’s spiked donuts.  Yes!

Here is the link to the Bailey’s recipe that I used

Bailey’s Irish Cream Grown-Up Donuts

Yield: 12 donuts

Ingredients:

* 2 cups all-purpose flour

* ¾ cup white sugar

* 2 tsp baking powder

* 1 tsp salt

* nutmeg and cinnamon, to taste

* ¾ cup bailey’s (homemade or from the store)

* 2 beaten eggs

* 1 tsp vanilla

* 2 tbsp melted butter (or margarine)

Preheat oven to 400F.  Spray your donut pan and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt until combined.  Add the bailey’s, eggs, vanilla and butter and mix until everything is incorporated.  Fill each doughnut cup and bake for 9 minutes. Allow to cool slightly before removing from pan.  Paint the tops with melted butter and dip in cinnamon/sugar mixture.

Oh. My. Goodness.  These reminded me exactly of the cider donuts that we get at the farms in the fall – except with a slight taste of Bailey’s instead of cider.  They couldn’t have been easier, either.  If you don’t have a donut pan, I found mine at Michael’s for $6!

Now obviously, even though these aren’t cooked in oil, they aren’t really healthy.  However, what’s wrong with eating a donut on a holiday?  For those of you who are heading out to the parades/restaurants/ bars for the holiday, have fun and stay safe!

Goodnight!

5 Responses to “Bailey’s Irish Cream Donuts”

  1. Steve March 16, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    Awesome holiday treat. Can’t wait to share them with everyone tomorrow. They are sure to be a hit.

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD March 19, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    YUM! I had a bailey’s mousse this wkend that was to die for!

  3. Swanky Dietitian March 21, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    These donuts are right up my alley!! I LOVE the addition of baileys!

  4. Brittany March 23, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Ohhh my yum. YES, just yes.

  5. beti April 12, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    I can see myself dipping them in chocolate, just perfect

Leave a Reply

