Spinach Goat Cheese Weeknight Pasta

12 Mar

Happy Monday!  Typically I really dislike Monday’s, but how can I hate a day that is 70 degrees and sunny?  The weather here in the northeast is out of control nice.  To the point that I almost felt a “fever” coming on on my way back to work from lunch today. But alas, paying bills trumps nice weather so back to the office I went.  At least tonight will stay light for an hour longer, which makes it feel like the evening is that much longer.  Every year, it amazes me just how different the nice weather can make me feel.  Better mood, more energized, actually wanting to work out, etc.  Another bummer of winter is the available produce (other than clementines).  After 3-4 months, I can honestly say that I don’t think I can stand winter produce much longer.  Hopefully the warm and sunny weather forecast will allow the typical spring/summer fruits and veggies to peak their heads a little earlier than usual this year.

A few weeks ago I was left with very limited options for dinner.  The food store wasn’t going to happen until the next day, so I was left with going through my fridge and pantry and hopefully finding foods that I can pair to be somewhat edible.  Anyone else ever do this?  What I discovered was that a little spinach, butter, and goat cheese can take pasta over the top.

Spinach Goat Cheese Pasta

Yield: 1 serving

Ingredients:

3/4 cup vegetable pasta (i bought the spinach/carrot/tomato blend)

2 tbsp soft goat cheese (not crumbled)

1 tsp butter or margarine

2 handfuls baby spinach, rinsed and patted dry

While pasta is cooking, place the spinach in the bottom of your bowl.  Scoop the goat cheese and butter on top of the spinach and microwave for 60 seconds.  When the pasta is finished cooking, drain it and pour right over your spinach, cheese, and butter.  Mix with a fork and serve immediately.

Pre-Microwave

 Post-Microwave

Literally, the easiest dinner in the history of mankind.  Except for maybe PB&J…  or a bowl of cereal (but both of those things are not really dinner, per se).  I would even make this for a dinner party because it tastes like something that actually took thought and effort 😉

14 Responses to “Spinach Goat Cheese Weeknight Pasta”

  1. Steve March 12, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Such a great idea for those busy weeknights. Almost too good as it makes me want pasta everynight.

    • amy41143 March 12, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      At least it’s veggie pasta. The box says a full serving of veggies per bowl 😉

  2. wildbluewonder March 12, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    I’ll have to look for that pasta, can’t beat extra veggies! And this looks divinely simple (and simply divine), thanks! I think goat cheese makes so many things better…

    • amy41143 March 13, 2012 at 9:03 am #

      Me too, I use it so often. It is an absolute staple in my house!

      • wildbluewonder March 13, 2012 at 9:15 am #

        Likewise! Lately I’ve been recreating a fave restaurant pizza at home, using Lebanese pita for the crust (much lower cal and it crisps up nicely, almost like a cracker crust). The toppings: basil pesto, caramelized onions, and goat cheese. Simple and delicious!

      • amy41143 March 13, 2012 at 10:24 am #

        Yum- sounds really good!

  3. Debbie March 12, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    What’s the name of the pasta? This sounds really yummy.

    • amy41143 March 13, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      I’m not home right now, but i believe it’s ronzoni garden delight- or something like that. It’s in a green box and the pasta is multicolored.

      • wildbluewonder March 13, 2012 at 9:58 am #

        Thanks, I just Googled it and that is what it’s called! And according to their locator, several stores in my area sell it. Can’t wait to check it out!

  4. Brittany March 13, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    I am crazy jealous of your weather! It’s cold, rainy, and grey in the pacific northwest. This pasta dish would be perfect for the cold days..yum!

  5. Swanky Dietitian March 14, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I am so making this!! What a delicious idea!! And, bonus, I have all these ingredients at home. 🙂

  6. Natalie @Will Jog For Food March 14, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    That looks amazing and so simple! I need to make it ASAP!

  7. Irene March 15, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Sounds good – I love the combo of spinach and goat cheese!

  8. Allison @ PickyEatingRD March 15, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    Love love love melty goat cheese. I think I might even prefer it to regular cheese at this point!

Leave a Reply

