Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

8 Feb

I learned a very valuable lesson late last August, that I will forever carry with me.  After a few particular hardships I endured while trying to find canned pumpkin at the end of summer (when I get bitten by the every-recipe-must-include-pumpkin bug), I realized that once November hits I need to stock up for the following year.  Canned pumpkin has a long shelf life, so I now have a cabinet dedicated to pumpkin.  No more weird looks from super market employees or awkward showdowns with the elderly for me!  This came in especially handy earlier this week when I got a crazy craving for pumpkin mac and cheese.  I call it a crazy craving because I’ve never actually had pumpkin mac and cheese before.  Anyway, after some very minimal research and additions/changes, this is what I threw together.  Don’t be intimidated, the sauce cooks up even faster than the pasta.  In fact, I almost overcooked the pasta while staring into the pumpkin sauce’s slow, bubbling, lava-like movement.  Quite hypnotizing after a long day!

Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups pasta of your choice (preferably rotini or shells)
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 tbsp whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar (I used low-fat)
  •  1/4 cup grated parmesan
  • 2-3 tbsp goat cheese (or other soft cheese)
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste
Cook pasta according to directions on the box.  While the pasta is cooking, heat the EVOO in a large skillet.  Add the milk and flour and whisk really well so the flour doesn’t clump up.  One by one, add the remaining ingredients to the sauce, stirring often.  Drain the pasta, and pour desired amount of pumpkin sauce over.  Mix and serve immediately.

Perfection.  The next time you want pumpkin, give it a try – even if you’re short on time!  I’ve already had it twice this week.  Long live canned pumpkin!

6 Responses to “Pumpkin Mac and Cheese”

  1. Steve February 8, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    What a great idea. Looked so easy but was sooo good. I will be requesting this on a regular basis, haha.

  2. Debbie February 9, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I love Mac and cheese. This sounds delicious. Can’t wait to try.

  3. Brittany February 9, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Say Whaaattt!? This sounds amazing!! Genius I tell ya!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) February 9, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    This looks so good! Canned pumpkin isn’t a common ingredient in the UK, but I randomly saw a can in the supermarket the other day – I wish that I’d bought it now.

  5. Kristen @ swanky dietitian February 9, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    Wow, this looks incredible!!
    I have been neglecting my dear pumpkin so I plan to make a recipe this weekend. 🙂

  6. Natalie @Will Jog For Food February 9, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    What a great way to use pumpkin! Plus I LOVE mac & cheese, could eat it all friggin day.

Leave a Reply

