Vegan Chili

4 Feb

Sounds like an oxymoron, doesn’t it?  Being that I don’t eat poultry and don’t really care for pork unless it’s slow cooked and pulled, it’s really important to incorporate lots of meat free meals into my week so I am not eating red meat all the time.  That’s why I was more than happy to fulfill the request of finding and perfecting a recipe for vegan chili.  Of course the search began and ended at my go-to, one stop shop for all things vegan; Oh She Glows.  I added and changed a few things, but overall her recipe was amazing.  Dare I say that I enjoyed it more than regular Chili?

Vegan Chili – adapted from Oh She Glows

Yield: 6-8

Ingredients:

1 tsp EVOO

1 garlic clove, minced

2 bell peppers, chopped

1 sweet onion, chopped

3 carrots, chopped

1 can mushrooms, drained

1 – 28 oz can diced tomatoes, with the juice

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 can red beans, drained and rinsed

1 can corn

3 tbsp chili powder

2 tsp oregano

salt, to taste

red pepper flakes, to taste

1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tbsp chia seeds (optional, but adds more protein and omega’s)

* I wanted to add some chopped up eggplant, but the one I bought 3 days ago was getting fuzzy already (thanks Stop and Shop)

Heat a large saucepan over medium heat with the EVOO.  Cook onions, garlic, carrots, and peppers for about 5 minutes.  Add everything else, stir real well, cover, and let simmer for 30-35 minutes.  That’s it!

Perfect for meat eaters, non meat eaters, and people with high blood pressure like *somebody* I know who is reading this!  Steve quickly un-veganized this by adding shredded cheddar to his bowl, but considering he is a full on carnivore and asked still asked for seconds, I’m considering this a major win..

8 Responses to “Vegan Chili”

  1. Kiah February 4, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Still asked for seconds? Definitely a major win!!

  2. Natalie @Will Jog For Food February 5, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Looks like I can test this out on my “carnivore” hubby!

  3. Steve February 5, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    No meat! no problem! This was hearty and healthy. Two thumbs up!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) February 5, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I love vegan chilli, possibly even more than the meaty version. I make it for my boyfriend quite regularly as well and he never complains.

  5. Allison @ PickyEatingRD February 6, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    My bf is a legit carnivore through and through. I keep trying to sneak meatless dishes onto his plate but haven’t been successful.

  6. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian February 6, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    This looks delicious! I am always looking for new chili ideas. Thanks for sharing.

  7. realfunfood February 7, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    I’ve been going to OSG more and more recently for all my vegan needs! It really is a great site to try to incorporate more vegan cooking into your diet. I love the chili powder in this chili!

  8. Brittany February 7, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    Chili chili chili chili!!!!! I love chili!!!!! This recipe sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

