Chianti Marinated Pulled Beef Stew

26 Jan

Image

As per a request, next week I will be posting a recipe for vegan chili just in time for super bowl Sunday.  I was going to make it this past weekend until Giada sucked me into her delicious world during an appearance on the Today Show.  She made this amazing looking stew that I could not get out of my head for the rest of the week.  So on Saturday morning, while everyone else in the northeast  was inside hiding from the snowstorm, I dragged Steve out of our warm, comfy bed to go to the food store.  Along with everything else we needed for the upcoming week, I also got a beautiful piece of meat for the stew.  After a quick stop at our local liquor store for the bottle of chianti, I was home and got crackin’.

Of course I changed her original recipe a bit, so here is what I did:

Chianti Marinated Pulled Beef Stew

Yield: 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

2 1/2 lbs beef brisket

1 bottle chianti

4 tbsp EVOO

salt and pepper

4-5 strips of bacon, chopped

2 cups chopped carrots

1 garlic glove, minced

8 oz green beans, cut in thirds

5 red potatoes, cut into bite sized pieces

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes

4 cups beef broth

Place beef in a baking dish and pour the wine over it.  Place in fridge for an hour and a half, turn over, and marinate for another hour and a half.  Set meat aside and reserve the wine.  Heat the EVOO in a dutch oven over medium-high heat.  Add the meat and brown on each side (about 2 minutes per side).  Remove meat.  Place the bacon in the dutch oven and cook until crispy.  Add the carrots, garlic, green beans, and potatoes and toss around for a few minutes.  Add the wine, tomatoes, rosemary, and beef broth, and stir thoroughly.  Add the meat, bring to a boil, and simmer (covered) for 3 1/2 hours.

Remove meat and pull apart with two forks.  Place meat back in the pot and let warm back up, about 5 minutes.

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Do you believe that I don’t have a single picture of the final product?  Maybe it’s because we inhaled it.

For the meat lovers out there, this is the one the best stews I’ve ever had.  Highly recommended for any super bowl party.  If you don’t eat meat or dairy, stay tuned – I got you covered!

6 Responses to “Chianti Marinated Pulled Beef Stew”

  1. Steve January 26, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Awesome stew. Hearty and tasty. Also a great way to christen the new LeCruset.

  2. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian January 26, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Sometimes it’s difficult to have to stop and take a picture..no worries there! 🙂
    This looks delicious!

  3. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 27, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I always forget to take pictures of my food while I am making it. I really have to make a conscious effort when I am trying to develop a recipe or make one for the blog!

  4. Brittany January 27, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Yahhooo for a vegan recipe! I am excited! The veggies in this recipe still look dang tasty to me!

  5. beti January 29, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    I am a meat lover!! I really wanted to see the final product I bet it looked perfect

  6. Kristen @ swanky dietitian February 3, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Yum!!! This looks crazy good!!
    Ha, Giada has that way of sucking you in, doesn’t see. I love her!!

Leave a Reply

