Eggplant Rollups

19 Jan

Has anyone noticed that it is really hard to make any meal that is covered in tomato sauce look appealing?  Any tips are welcome!

TGI-Thursday night!  Although we don’t have any significant plans this weekend, I’m just looking forward to relaxing, clearing my head, and hopefully a little snow.  This winter has been mild to say the least – especially compared to last year’s wild winter.  Don’t get me wrong, the last thing I want is a repeat of winter 2011, but I’d be lying if I said that I don’t check the weather obsessively in hopes of hearing that a snowstorm is coming.  Oh well!

Anyway, how many people have found old produce-gone-bad hiding in the fridge when you were putting your groceries away?  Me too.  Too many times.  Want to know the solution?  Meal plan.  Meal planning is the answer to so many things.  Want to eat healthier?  Meal plan.  Want to eat out less?  Meal plan.  Want to minimize wasting perfectly good food and money?  Meal plan!  I realize that it can be time consuming, but it’s really worth it.  One of my resolutions was to dust off all of my cookbooks and sit down once a week and write out all of our dinners for the upcoming week.  This way we can go food shopping for exactly what we need for the week.  No waste and no last minute runs to the food store for missing ingredients.  What a novel idea!  This recipe popped in my head the last time I was meal planning.  The best part is that you can use whatever leftover goodies you have lying around for the filling.

Eggplant Rollups

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant, sliced thinly length-wise

1 large tomato, chopped and with the water squeezed out

1 cup tomato sauce (homemade or jarred)

1 1/2 cups baby spinach, chopped

1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped

4 oz soft cheese (I used mascarpone, but you can use ricotta or goat cheese)

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella

4-5 strips of bacon, cooked until crisp and chopped

Salt, to taste

Salt the eggplant slices on both sides and place in a colander.  Let sit for a half hour (salting the eggplant will make it sweat).  Preheat oven to 450F.  Pat the eggplant slices dry and set aside.  In a small bowl, add the tomato, baby spinach, basil, mascarpone (or other soft cheese), mozzarella, and bacon and mix until fully combined.  Lay the eggplant strips on a sprayed cooking sheet.  Add about 3 tbsp of the filling to the fat end of the strip.  Gently roll up and leave it seam side down.  Bake for 15 minutes, remove and add about 1-2 tbsp of the tomato sauce on top of each roll, and then bake for another 10-15 minutes.

One large eggplant made enough for dinner and lunch for both Steve and I.  That’s four meals!  Not too shabby for those of us looking to stretch our dollars.

Have a good weekend!

6 Responses to “Eggplant Rollups”

  1. Kiah January 20, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    I love me some eggplant, which is a drastic change from when I was little and equated them with mush. Like, dirty brown SNOW mush. At least I can tell I’m making progress, right?? haha. Anywho, looks delicious!! And you are SO right: meal planning is the way to go. Now if I can only follow-through on that knowledge…

  2. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) January 20, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Mmm – I love eggplant so this recipe looks yummy!
    We’re having a very mild winter here too, but I’m very pleased that we haven’t had lots of snow – I hope it continues like this!

  3. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog January 20, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Love your eggplant rollups! Such a healthy and delicious looking meal. I’m trying to plan out my meals too and I agree that you can eat healthier and save a lot more money that way. 🙂

  4. Brittany January 21, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    YUMMM! I think the tomato sauce MAKES it look yummy!!

  5. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 22, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    This is such a creative use of eggplant. I haven’t been the biggest fan of eggplant also haven’t been that creative with it. I’ll have to give it a go!

  6. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian January 23, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    These look just delicious!
    My mom makes lots of italian, and I will tell ya’, it’s tough to photograph. Your pics look great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

