Strawberry Balsamic Smoothie

14 Jan

Well, the stomach bug that’s been hanging around these parts finally got to me.  And Steve.  And my brother, brother in law, and mom’s husband.  Yeah.  Let me tell you, there is nothing like a good old stomach virus to get you back to eating healthy after the holidays.  Once this bad boy gets a hold of you, the last thing in the world you want is greasy, overly fatty, overly sugary foods.  Although don’t get me wrong, I would have much rather gotten back on track in my own, slow, non-vomiting way.  So needless to say, the food around here hasn’t been all that interesting or tasty since Sunday.  A lot of smoothies loaded with all kinds if craziness.  And then tonight I had this strawberry balsamic smoothie.

Strawberries and balsamic is a classic combination that rarely fails.  Especially since discovering balsamic glaze from my sister a few years back.  Because the balsamic is reduced, it takes some of the bitterness and acidity out and works even better with strawberries and other sweets.  The idea for this smoothie came to me when I was walking to my car this morning, and I thought about it every half hour until I got home.

*Warning: This smoothie will make you long for spring and summer in a serious way

Strawberry-Balsamic Smoothie

Yield: 1 serving

Ingredients:

1 banana

1 cup frozen strawberries

1 cup milk

1 scoop chocolate or vanilla protein powder

1 tsp balsamic glaze

1 small bunch of fresh basil

2 tbsp chia seeds

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.  Serve immediately.

This came out so good, I see an obsession forming.  Try it the next time you want a post workout smoothie, or even a dessert when you want something sweet that isn’t loaded with refined sugars.  You can even add 1/4 cup of rolled oats and have it as a meal replacement.

8 Responses to “Strawberry Balsamic Smoothie”

  1. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) January 15, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Mmm – I love balsamic glaze – I had a cherry one that I put on everything.

  2. Natalie @Will Jog For Food January 15, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    What a cool idea! Strawberry and balsamic glaze is a great combo.

  3. Irene January 15, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    mmmm that sounds really good, I’m not a big health-smoothie person, but this one I would def try!

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 15, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    My sis had a very similar drink when we were out the other night. I think balsamic really pulls out the flavor of things!

  5. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian January 16, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    I love that you added the balsamic glaze to the smoothie!
    Looks just delicious!
    I hope you get to feeling better soon!

  6. realfunfood January 17, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    I’m totally, completely on board with this. Strawberries and balsamic are perfect together! Last summer I was obsessed with a strawberry basil pesto sauce and I’d also add a little balsamic to top it off!

  7. Kiah January 17, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Just looking at your pics makes me pine for summertime. *sigh* Here’s to hoping y’all heal up quick!

  8. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog January 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    The addition of balsamic glaze sounds interesting! I never try adding it to any of my smoothie before. But I will take you words for it and try it next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

