Scallops Gratin

6 Jan
I love scallops. Seriously, love them, but have never actually cooked them until last month. They scared me. Not the undercooking so much as the overcooking.  It amazes me how quickly and easily a buttery, soft, delicious, perfect scallop can be turned into something that would resemble chewing on a ball of rubber bands in consistency and taste. Being that I’m on a budget, it was never worth the risk for me to attempt on my own. That is until last month when my friend and her boyfriend were coming over for dinner. It was the weekend before Christmas an I was feeling saucy, so I hit up my friend Google for advice. I came across a recipe from Ina Garten that despite my inner voice screaming “no!”(not a fan of miss Ina) actually gave me a good starting off point. What’s my beef with Ina, you ask? Well for those of you who don’t know, a 7 year old boy with leukemia wanted to meet her and cook with her. However, Make A Wish Foundation reached out to Ina and she declined. Twice. Too busy. I think what irked me the most about this story was that after the story went public (real public), 2 weeks of public outcry and thousands upon thousands of people vowing to never watch her show or buy her books ever again, she came out and announced that she would meet him. What a doll! Anyway, the family gracefully declined and the boy was able to swim with the dolphins which was his back up wish.
Ok, I’m very sorry for the rant. Moving on.
Ah yes, scallops. So here’s what was made. Follow this to a T and you will have perfectly cooked scallops. No worries!
Scallops Gratin
Yield: 4 big servings

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • ¼ pound prosciutto, chopped
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 lemon
  • ¼ cup EVOO
  • 3/4 cup panko
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 20 -24 fresh sea scallops
  • salt and pepper to taste

 Preheat oven to 425F. Place the butter in a large bowl and start to whip with a hand mixer.  Add the garlic, shallots, prosciutto, parsley, and salt and pepper and mix until combined. Squeeze the juice from your lemon into to mixture along with the EVOO.  Using a spatula, fold in the panko crumbs last.

Pour the wine in the bottom of a casserole dish.  Rinse the scallops and dry them with a paper towel.  Cut each scallop in half and place them evenly in the bottom of your casserole dish.  Take your butter mixture and spoon it evenly on top of the scallops.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.

*Good, fresh scallops can be eaten raw so it is definitely better to undercook a bit than overcook.  I found 11 minutes was perfect.


Make sure you have a good, fresh baguette to serve with this, although it would also be good over pasta or risotto.  The only thing I will definitely change next time is that I will use less garlic. I don’t mind garlic as a side note in a recipe, but I do not enjoy when it is literally all I taste. Why waste money on the other ingredients then?
I also came across this balsamic onion marmalade the last time I was in Williams Sonoma and paired it with some assorted cheeses and water crackers.  If you come across this, I highly recommend it!  A little bit goes a long way, so keep that in mind.
12 Responses to “Scallops Gratin”

  1. Natalie @Will Jog For Food January 6, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    That must be delicious! I love scallops!

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 6, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I am not the biggest fan of scallops but my bf absolutely loves them! He always gets so angry because I am just so-so about them yet they are pretty expensive. His opinion – if you don’t love them don’t spend the money haha. I am going to show him this recipe because while I may not like them, this still looks very good!

    • amy41143 January 6, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      He can definitely adjust this to make just for himself haha..

  3. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian January 6, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    This looks delicious! You know, I have never had scallops! I definitely need to make them.
    Boo Ina! That is not cool! I know celebrities are really busy, but I would hope they would make time for something that important.

    • amy41143 January 6, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      You have to try scallops asap, they are so good!

  4. Steve January 6, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    Way easier than one would expect and yields such a good portion. Great way to look much fancier than you really are. Thumbs up!

  5. goodformegirl January 7, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Woot! Way to be brave in the kitchen! I have never cooked scallops, but I’ll let you know if I try 🙂

  6. Patty January 7, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Oh this looks just delicious – scallops and prosciutto – I feel like you can’t go wrong. Way to go out on a limb and try something new!

  7. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) January 8, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I tried scollops for the first time recently and loved them – they were so sweet and succulent! This recipe looks fantastic.

  8. realfunfood January 10, 2012 at 4:16 am #

    I had no idea about this! What a joke!!

    I’ve also been in love with scallops but too scared to try cooking them. Thanks for the recipe! I always crave them but they’re soooo expensive in restaurants. I love how almost buttery and all around heavenly they are!

  9. Brittany January 12, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Soooo purdyyyy!

Leave a Reply

