Shepards Pie and Resolutions

2 Jan

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday spent with family, friends, and great food!  Friday was the first night in a week (literally) that I ate dinner at home.  Although I have been continuing to run on a somewhat regular basis, I have still been eating way too much and am starting to feel like a stuffed sausage.  Not to mention the fact that my body is starting to crave real nutrition and normalcy.  And I’m not talking about “milk chocolate contains milk, which contains calcium, so it must be healthy” nutrition.  However, this past week I have been eating pretty much whatever I want and my mind seems to be used to that mindset (funny how quickly that happens), so I couldn’t just have a salad for dinner.  Small steps!  That is why this shepards pie recipe is so great.  It tastes just like comfort food, but it really has a lot of veggies and nutrition packed in there.  Trickery!

Shepards Pie

Ingredients:

6 red potatoes

2 tbsp earth balance

1/2 cup skim milk

1 1/4 pound lean ground beef

1/2 onion, finely chopped

1 cup carrots, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 cup peas

1/2 cup corn

2 tsp EVOO

1 tbsp tomato paste

2-3 tbsp worcestershire sauce

1/3 cup vegetable stock

Rinse and chop red potatoes, cover with water in a large pot and bring to a boil.  Cook until potatoes are fork tender, then drain and place back in the pot.  Using a fork, lightly mash the potatoes.  Add the milk and earth balance and whip with a hand mixer until completely smooth.  Cover and set aside.

Preheat oven to 400F.  Saute the onion, carrots, and bell pepper in the EVOO on medium high heat for about 10 minutes.  Next add the beef, peas and corn and cook until the beef is browned.  Finally, add the vegetable stock, tomato paste, and worcestershire sauce.  Cook everything for an additional 5 minutes.  Transfer meat mixture into an oven safe casserole dish.  Spoon the mashed potato mixture on top of the meat until you have an even layer that completely covers the meat.  Place in oven for 20 minutes.  Serve immediately.

So let’s all resolve to not get down on ourselves and dwell on the overeating we have all been participating in over the past week or so.  Instead, we’ll move on and back right on our balanced eating and regular exercising horse!

Check this out

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

11 Responses to “Shepards Pie and Resolutions”

  1. Debbie January 2, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    i can’t wait to fix this for Ricky. This is one of his favorites.

  2. realfunfood January 3, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    Yum! Love shepards pie. So hearty and filling!!

  3. Steve January 3, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Great on the 1st night but even better as a leftover. Awesome and easy dish!!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) January 3, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    I totally agree! It’s counter-productive to dwell on what’s already happened and everyone indulges a little bit over Christmas 🙂
    This recipe looks great – I’ve really learned to like Shepherd’s pie lately.

  5. Natalie @Will Jog For Food January 3, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    I love me some Shepard’s pie! YUM

  6. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian January 3, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    You know, I have never had sheperds pie This looks just delicious!
    I am going to have to make it! 🙂

  7. Brittany January 3, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Yessss to regular eating right and exercise!

  8. Allison @ PickyEatingRD January 3, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    I’ve never had Shepard’s Pie before. I have heard of it but was pretty clueless as to what it is. My body was def. ready to get back to my normal eating habits after the holiday too!

  9. goodformegirl January 5, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Haha, LOVE the link! Definitely passing it on to my Dad, who has become intolerant to about a 340932490 things.

  10. beti January 8, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    as strange as it may sound I have never tried sheperds pie but it was always one of my must do things, yours look delicious!

    • amy41143 January 12, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      It’s one of my favorites! Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

