Peppermint Bark Biscotti

14 Dec

Has this December been especially chaotic for anyone else?  For some reason I feel like my head is about to pop off.  Finishing the semester, work Q4 craziness, and not quite done Christmas shopping yet all seemed okay.  That is until I realized that my semester is ending in a week and I have a ton of work to do and finals to study for, and this weekend is my last chance to finish shopping because Christmas is next weekend.  That can’t be right.  I just got back from my honeymoon a week or 2 (or 20!) ago.  So I guess that’s why my photographer hasn’t sent me my wedding album yet; he’s on Amy time!  Now it all makes sense.  I will call and apologize for my many inquiring emails.

Peppermint Bark is a favorite in my family around the holidays.  Specifically the $1,000 kind from Williams Sonoma.  I have no idea why, but last week I decided I wanted to try and make peppermint bark biscotti.  I’ve never made biscotti before, so I thought that making up my own version on my very first try would be disastrous.  Luckily, it came out fantastic.  I hate sounding like I’m tooting my own horn all the time, but it’s the only way I can try and sell you on making certain recipes.  This is one of them, so please excuse the gushing.  I’m actually hoping to make more this weekend and start giving it out as presents.  The night that I baked this was shaping up to be the perfect night.  We were decorating our tree while listening to Christmas music, sipping on Williams Sonoma $1,000 hot chocolate while I was baking holiday biscotti.  Then, I brought Steve over a piece when it was finished and he said something along the lines of “no thanks, I hate peppermint bark”.  Then the records screeched and time stood still before I found the right words.  There were no right words.  He would just have to spend the rest of the night in his room thinking about what he just said.  And now there I was, forced to eat the amount two people would eat because somebody doesn’t like peppermint bark.  You think you know somebody.  Good thing he’s the only person in the universe that doesn’t like it because I was handing it out to everyone I know all weekend.  The best part?  It’s made with whole wheat pastry flour so you don’t have to feel so bad eating it.  Unless you eat a lot of it.  Like, say, 4 in one night.

Peppermint Bark Biscotti

Yield: 20-22 biscotti

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup light olive oil
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup craisins
  • 1 1/2 peppermint bark, chopped

Preheat oven to 315F.  Mix together flour, salt, and baking powder and set aside.  In a large bowl, mix the EVOO, sugar, vanilla, and eggs until well combined.  Slowly add your flour mixture into your wet mixture.  Fold in craisins and peppermint bark.  Separate your dough into two equal piles.  It should look like this:

Place in oven and cook for about 30-35 minutes.  Remove from oven and reduce the heat to 300F.  Let the biscotti rest for about 10 minutes and then cut your dough into ¾”  thick slices.  Place back in oven for an additional 10 minutes.  Cool for at least a half hour before serving.

This is such an awesome thing to bake and wrap up for friends, co-workers, neighbors, or whoever you usually give a little something to over the holidays.  Everybody gets cookies, and although this really is a longer, crunchier, not quite as sweet cookie, it’s still technically not a cookie 😉

Happy Holidays!  I hope you are all done shopping with presents wrapped and nothing left to do!

9 Responses to “Peppermint Bark Biscotti”

  1. Steve December 14, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    Considering I usually only like peppermint in my gum, these were awesome treats and I take back my foolish ignorance about peppermint bark. Another great creation!!!!

  2. Brittany December 14, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Yuuummmmm! Biscotti and peppermint bark combined sounds like heaven in a cookie! I am almost done with my Christmas shopping yayyy!

    As for your comment on my post..YES please print and make all those meals..you will NOT be disappointed! I will for sure be doing another round of different meals so you can try those too!! YAYAYA!

  3. Kristen @ swanky dietitian December 14, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I am so impressed!! This looks delicious!
    I’ve never attempted biscotti but I just might after seek this recipe.
    Good luck with finals! 🙂

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) December 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I’ve been researching biscotti recipes today because I really fancy making some and it sounds easy enough. I like this recipe, especially as it uses wholewheat flour.

  5. Natalie @Will Jog For Food December 14, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    YUM! If you dip that in peppermint hot chocolate it must be AMAZING!

  6. Irene December 15, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    I was lucky enough to get a sampling of this…delicious!

  7. Kiah December 16, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    This is the best version of peppermint bark I’ve seen. Then again, biscotti anything rocks my socks as I am a big tea drinker 🙂 Happy Friday!

  8. Allison @ PickyEatingRD December 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    This looks great! What a unique biscotti idea!

Leave a Reply

