A New Month, A New Pizza

4 Dec

Yes, I know I post a lot of different pizza recipes, but I can never get enough.  It is such a versatile food that you can make to your liking every time.  You want a fruity dessert?  Make a fruit pizza.  In the mood for a salad, but want something a little more filling?  Make a salad pizza.  Even Italian foods like penne vodka and chicken parm pizza’s are staples at pizza places over in my neck of the woods.  You can’t go wrong because bread goes with everything (Just make sure you use whole wheat dough 😉 ).

A few months ago, we had the first of what would quickly become a monthly pizza cooking night with our two friends.  The next day, I posted my recipe and promised that I would post the recipe for their pizza soon because it was so good.  Well, this morning I woke up thinking about dinner (happens often) and thought their pizza sounded perfect.  However, when I went to my recipe tab to look up the recipe, I realized that I never posted the recipe.  I looked at the pictures and tried to remember exactly what they did.  I have a bad memory.  Bad.  So, I ran to the food store and got everything that I thought I needed.  Then later that night, I got cooking.  I’m pretty sure I nailed it, but I’m going to ask my friend Jackie to comment if I am missing anything so I can update it here.

Spinach-Prosciutto Pizza

Yield: 1 pie

Ingredients:

whole wheat pizza dough

2 – 3 cups baby spinach

1 small ball of fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced

1 avocado, sliced and chopped into bite sized pieces

balsamic glaze

Preheat oven to 425F with pizza stone inside.  Roll out dough into desired shape and thickness. Remove pizza stone and place dough on the stone.  Cook for about 10 minutes.  Place sliced mozzarella on the dough first, followed my the baby spinach, and then the prosciutto.  Bake for another 5-8 minutes.  Remove from the oven and distribute avocados evenly on top of pizza.  Lightly drizzle the balsamic glaze on top, slice, and serve immediately.

Sorry for the iPhone pics in the poor lighting, my camera’s battery died on me.  The nerve!  Anyway, shout out to Jackie!  This was her creation, and it is unbelievably good!  I know prosciutto and avocados seems like an odd combination, but the mild creaminess of the avocado blends perfectly with the saltiness of the prosciutto – I’m actually surprised that I haven’t seen this combo a lot more.

In other news, I’m working on student loans (school is EXPENSIVE!) which is making me anxious.  For all of you who attended grad school, did the cost stress you out enough that you considered not going?  I was on the edge for a while, but a few individuals convinced me to follow my passion and go for it.  Thank you “individuals”!  Without you, I probably wouldn’t be going :).  I’m also a few weeks away from being done for the semester!  Yes!  And finally, I got a new MacBook.  Let’s just say that my boss rocks, and gave me an amazing price on a model we had left in stock from last year that is no longer running in any of our programs.  And right when my dinky little netbook (that I got for free for signing up for Verizon Fios, haha) decided to die on me, and just in time for grad school.  Lucky gal!

I’m off to buy our Christmas tree! Yay!  And then come home and write 3 papers.  Boo.

8 Responses to “A New Month, A New Pizza”

  1. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian December 4, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    This pizza looks delicious!! I love the idea of adding prosciutto..and the balsamic glaze…heavenly!!

  2. Brittany December 4, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    OMGG that pizza stole my heart..minus the meat. I NEED to have some of that.

  3. Steve December 4, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Perfect recreation of the Jackie pizza! Awesome combination…

  4. Jackie December 4, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    This looks FAB! You did a great job! I liked that you used the balsamic! I like to add shredded mozz underneath and top the pizza with the fresh mozz. It sounds like a lot of cheese (especially for someone who is lactose intolerant, like myself) but the reduced-skim variety at least offers less calories and it’s totally worth the lactose. Some roasted red pepper flakes (or a lot, as Steve prefers) adds even more flavor and some heat!

    Glad I made the blog =) I feel so accomplished in the kitchen now! ❤

  5. Allison @ PickyEatingRD December 5, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Blah I did the student loan thing too. It works out in the end girl I promise!

  6. Kiah December 5, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    “Never enough” is pretty much my pizza mentality. I’ve recently started trying to make it at home to save money and eat healthier versions…all this is to say, keep the recipes coming! 🙂

  7. Natalie @Will Jog For Food December 7, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    That pizza looks SO good! I had a salad pizza once, and it was WAY better than I thought it was going to be.

  8. realfunfood December 21, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I think prosciutto and avocado sounds absolutely perfect. I also totally love fresh mozzarella, but I didn’t see it as much when I lived in the US. In England I always have some fresh mozz in the fridge!

Leave a Reply

