The Best Cookies in the World!

30 Nov

** Well, I’ve had cookies from Levain Bakery and those are the best cookies in the world – but these are up there! **

Good evening bloggies!  How was your Thanksgiving?  Mine was lovely, along with the rest of my long weekend.  I’m pretty sure I would be a much better person all around if I had a 5 day weekend every week.  Or at least once a month.  The tofu pumpkin pie came out awesome!  After one person tasted it and said it was good, it was like a flood gate opened and everyone was willing to try it – reluctantly, but still.  Everyone agreed that it was impossible to tell the difference between this and regular pumpkin pie.  The texture and flavor were spot on.  I don’t know who the person is who decided to put tofu in pumpkin pie, but they deserve a “well-done, sir” and a hearty handshake.  Moving on.
 
I ran in the park on Saturday and actually felt lethargic.  That’s embarrassing to write, but it was a great reminder of why I don’t eat horribly anymore.  It has felt so good the past few days to get back to my regular eating habits and exercise routine.  I have decided on the Jersey City Half Marathon in September 2012 as my first big girl race.  Running along with me will be my brother and Steve.  Or should I say running ahead of me.  13.1 is a LONG time to be running, and I’m more than a little nervous.  If any of you have any first time training plans that worked for you, please email me!
 
After all of that health talk, let’s talk about todays recipe.  Cookies.  No really though, I was put in charge of baking cookies for a work function.  So, A little while ago I made a batch of these lovely little gems.  So easy and not time consuming, they are the perfect weeknight cookie if you need to throw something together in a pinch.  It’s literally 4 ingredients – all of which 99% of you have in your cabinets right now. 
 
Peanut Butter – Apricot-Raspberry Thumbprint Cookies
 
Yield: about a dozen and a half
 
Ingredients:
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup turbinado sugar (unrefined)
1 egg
1 jar apricot-raspberry preserves (or flavor of your choice)  
 
Preheat oven to 350F.  Mix the peanut butter, sugar, and egg until combined.  Roll a small ball of dough (no bigger than a golf ball) in your hands and push your thumb into the top to create a little “bowl” for the preserves to go in.  Once cookies are all rolled out and placed on your cookie sheet, spoon about 1 tsp of the preserves into the thumbprint.  Bake for 12 minutes.

Sorry for the iPhone pics, my camera is in my car and I’m far to lazy to go and get it 😉

 OK, I realize these look more like fist-prints rather than thumbprints, but I was really excited about these preserves and I wanted a lot in there!  I swear I don’t have a freakishly large thumb.

Amazing, you have to make these!  Seriously, go!  Now!  High five to easy cookies that look like they took a lot of effort! 

In other news, I picked up the best whisk in the world at Anthropologie over the weekend, Dakota thinks my purse is his pillow, and I found my new favorite animated guy (ok, he’s a frosted mini wheat – you read that right)

Doesn’t he look like he just won the showcase showdown on the Price is Right?  Is that show still on?  Until next time friends!

10 Responses to “The Best Cookies in the World!”

  1. Stephanie @ Snacking on Sunshine November 30, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Ooh, good luck on your big girl run (love that you call it that). I’m thinking of planning my first half so I’m getting pretty nervous too!! 😀
    That jam is delish. My dad goes so crazy for the rhubarb one that my mom has to buy three or four jars of it every time she goes to the store 😉
    Love the mini wheats guy too! I wish you could make him your word paperclip guy!!

    • amy41143 November 30, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

      Awesome, I’m glad I’m not alone in my training!! Everyone in my family is addicted to Bonne Mamman products, they are all so good! I recommend the fig preserves with cheese and crackers. So good!!

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD November 30, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Congrats on signing up for your half! And I so agree, if once a month we could have 5 day weekends I would be a much happier camper!

  3. cinquecentoproject December 1, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    I love Halhigdon.com for training programs, and runners world website has a ton of great training resources too. Can’t wait to read about your journey.

    Cookies look awesome and easy…hmmm…might have to make them

    • amy41143 December 1, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      You should, they’re awesome!
      Thanks for the info, I’ll definitely check it out!

  4. Kiah December 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    Yay for running your first 1/2! Hal Higdon has some good easy training plans for first time halfers. I just ran my first 1/2, and it was a great experience 🙂

  5. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian December 2, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I wish I had your cookies right now..doesn’t matter that its 7am! Ha.
    I am soo excited that you are doing your first half!! It is such a great accomplishment! I have only done one half, but plan on doing another down the road.

  6. Brittany December 2, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Hooray for your half marathon sign up! One day I will sign up for one too! Good luck and just remember to have fun! Cookies are in my blood..I neeeeed them.

  7. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) December 2, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Those cookies look great – I love the ones you get in France with jam filling.
    It’s great that you’ve decided to do a half marathon. I didn’t really follow a specific plan because I go to a runnning club twice a week. I built up to doing about 28 miles a week gradually over time.

  8. Best Pudding December 8, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Hello,

    I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your site and this post. You make some very informative points.Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

