Thanksgiving 5, Day 5: Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie

23 Nov

*LOST: Pie Pan.  Last seen: In cabinet next to spring form pan.  If found, please contact Amy. 

Well folks, Thanksgiving is upon us.  Does anybody else feel like 2011 never even happened?  While I love the holidays, this year went by scary fast so I’m just going to try to live each day as it comes even more than usual.  We spend too much time looking forward that we tend to take the “normal” days for granted.  “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans” – Lennon.  Anybody with me?  No?  Ok then, on to today’s recipe!

When my sister-in-law emailed us the list of what each person was in charge of making for Thanksgiving, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that I was in charge of a side, bringing a turkey (I get one for free from my food store, I will not be preparing it in any way.  I don’t eat poultry and the thought of removing giblets is just too much for me to handle!), and a pumpkin pie.  Nice!  I already knew that the side dish was going to be Angela’s  maple pumpkin baked bean casserole with corn bread topping.  It’s vegan which means my nephew can eat it with his allergies.  Then I thought about every pumpkin pie I’ve every made.  Eggs.  Condensed milk.  Cream cheese.  Oh boy.  When I hit Google to do some research, I found that I had two options: 1) basically season some pumpkin puree with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and some sugar, dump it in a pie crust and be left with warm mush.  Or 2) Use tofu.  Tofu in pumpkin pie?  Yipes.  However, I was left with no choice and I’m always up for a challenge so I set out to Whole Foods and picked up some silken tofu.  I’ve never cooked with tofu in any way, so I knew this was going to be interesting.  And interesting it was.

Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie

Yield: 1 pie

Ingredients:

12 ounces of silken tofu

15 oz can pumpkin puree

1/2 cup turbinado sugar (if you only have white that’s fine)

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp corn starch

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp ground cloves (optional)

Preheat oven to 475F.  In a 9 inch pie pan, place and shape your dough and stick in the refrigerator.  Using your stand mixer’s whisk attachment, mix tofu until somewhat creamy.  Add pumpkin and whisk on a high setting for about 5 minutes – you don’t want little specs of tofu hanging around.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix until incorporated.  Pour mixture into the prepared pie pan and bake for 10 minutes.  Lower heat to 350F and bake for an additional 60 minutes.  Once the edges of your crust are brown, cover just the edges with tin foil and that should prevent burning.

I typically like to make my own crust, but pillsbury is dairy-free so I figured I’s try it

It started out pretty…

I don’t know what happened to that one side of the crust!  He just gave up on me about half-way through

Sad?  Nah, he’s just hot from being in the oven. 

*Yes, I had to bake my pie in a cake pan.  Pie pan, I don’t know what I did to you, but please come home soon.  It’s getting cold outside and I’m worried sick!*

The batter actually tasted really good!  But lets face it, the real test will be tomorrow, but I’ll definitely let you know what everybody thought.  My nephew is so excited for pumpkin pie, that I am just happy I was able to make it in a way that he can actually eat it and not get sick.

While I was baking the pie, the little ball of leftover dough was looking very sad.  He knew he was destined for the garbage.  So, in the spirit of Thanksgiving and my philosophy of “no man left behind”, I made a mini apple pie for myself.  Nothing crazy, just chopped some apples and tossed them with brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg, put those guys in my pie crust-lined mini-casserole dish, put a little earth balance on top, and put the last piece of crust on top of that.  Baked him for 30-40 minutes (wasn’t really paying attention), and had pie for lunch.   I love staying home from work by myself!  No rules over here, Dakota and I are having a party!

For those of you who live in the US, HAPPY THANKSGIVING!  I hope you all have an absolutely fabulous holiday, filled with amazing food, friends, and family!

6 Responses to “Thanksgiving 5, Day 5: Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie”

  1. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) November 23, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    That looks like a great recipe! I have made puddings with tofu, but I’ve never made a cooked dessert with it. It looks very pretty – I hope it tastes as good as it looks!
    Have a fantastic Thanksgiving 🙂

  2. Natalie @Will Jog For Food November 23, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Love the stars on top of the pie, so friggin cute!

  3. Steve November 23, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Tofu!!! Kinda scary but it looks great and can’t wait to try it out..Could be a new Turkey-Day staple!!!

  4. Brittany November 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    This pie looks great!! Awesome recipe! Happy Thanksgiving!!

  5. Kiah November 25, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    What a feast! Hope you had a wonderful, yummy, family-filled holiday 🙂

  6. Allison @ PickyEatingRD November 27, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I have yet to utilize tofu in a sweet recipe. It slightly intimidates me but that looks pretty easy!

Leave a Reply

