Thanksgiving 5, Day 4: Cranberry-Basil Butter

21 Nov

Hi everyone!  How was your weekend?  Mine was jam packed, but good.  Actually, since my last post I have been non-stop busy with a concert, school work, regular work, visiting Steve’s parents, and Disney on Ice.  My company has a box at the new Prudential center, and they provided me with free tickets, so we took my niece on Thursday.  The look of complete awe on every single child’s face while they are watching is pretty funny!  You would think that George and John came back to life and the Beatles were playing a reunion concert. 
I have also been busy working on a presentation that I have to do on poultry rights tomorrow, which includes details on the living conditions and slaughtering practices of turkeys.  Two days before Thanksgiving.  How lucky am I?  So needless to say, I’m more than ready to get through tomorrow and enjoy my 5 day weekend! 
I wanted to include a biscuit recipe on this post, but I just didn’t have time for any trial and error sessions in my kitchen this past weekend.  However, this cranberry-basil butter is more than capable of standing on its own because it is one of the best butters I have ever had.  Not to mention the fact that it is so festive looking with the cranberry red and green specs in it.

Cranberry-Basil Butter
Yield: about 4 ounces (1 stick’s worth)
 
Ingredients:
1 stick of salted butter, margarine, or earth balance, softened
¼ cup craisins
½ cup fresh basil leaves, rinsed
 
Place the craisins in a small pot, cover with water and bring to a boil.  Let the craisins cook for about 10 minutes, until they are softened.  Drain the craisins and rinse with cold water.  Place in food processor with your basil and softened butter.  Process until smooth.  Spoon mixture into a container and refrigerate until ready to use.

 


 

Now if you want to give this as a gift or favor to your guests, you can spoon some of the mixture onto a small sheet of brown parchment paper, and then form the butter into whatever shape you like (ball, log, etc).  Then just roll it up in the paper and tie with some twine.  Otherwise, little mason jars like the one I have in my pictures are always an awesome option.  They are super cute, really cheap, and come in all different sizes.  I picked up this little guy at Crate and Barrel for $2.95.
This recipe is easy, fool proof, and takes no time at all.  And the best part is that it is so incredibly good.  The basil really works well with the saltiness of the butter and tanginess of the cranberries.  This would be an awesome option for those of you who like to put butter under the skin of the turkey prior to cooking too.  Biscuits.  Italian bread.  Mashed potatoes.  This would really work with anything.  Now I’m hungry.  I’m going to look for something to slather butter on, I’ll see you later….. 😉

10 Responses to “Thanksgiving 5, Day 4: Cranberry-Basil Butter”

  1. Steve November 21, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    All this talk about Thanksgiving butter and biscuits is making me hungry…Can’t wait to try this out in a few days..

  2. Kiah November 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I think I would be just as excited as the kids to see the ice show. I always wanted to be a figure skater (until I discovered their food intake is highly restricted!).

  3. Irene November 22, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    Sounds delicious! I love flavored butter and this combo sounds great and very festive 🙂

  4. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian November 22, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Wow, this butter sounds amazing! I love the combination of cranberries with basil! So unique.
    Seriously, I am way too excited for Thursday!!! 😉

  5. Liz @ Southern Charm November 22, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    How creative!! love this!

  6. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) November 22, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    That butter looks delicious – basil always goes so well with fruit, but I’ve never tried it with cranberries before.

  7. Natalie @Will Jog For Food November 22, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I NEED that butter 🙂

    • amy41143 November 22, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      You should made it, it’s so easy!!

  8. realfunfood November 23, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Oh my goodness this is right up my alley! I love making strawberry basil pesto sauce, so this is sure to be a winner with me.

Leave a Reply

