Thanksgiving 5, Day 3: Green Bean Casserole-ettes

16 Nov

Hi folks!  What a crazy week so far – 2 tests, preparing for a speech, and working on a group project right in the middle of my company’s busiest season is making my head spin a little.  I think I’m going to go back to the Banff and see if my hotel key still works.  I don’t see why it wouldn’t, it’s only been four months….
The silver lining is that I have a five day weekend next week!  Hopefully I won’t lose any hair or gain any gray ones before then.  So, needless to say, I have to save the time consuming recipe for Thanksgiving 5 for the weekend.  For day 3, I made mini green bean casserole-ettes.  This is so incredibly easy that I was able to throw it together on a weeknight after work, working out, and food shopping, with no stress.  Honestly, I think I could sit down with a bucket of this and eat it as a meal.  I don’t recommend that though.  It’s definitely not your traditional green bean casserole – there is no cream or dairy of any kind and no fried crunchy onions (stop cursing me, I promise you won’t miss them).  
 
Green Bean Casserole-ettes
Yield: 2 servings
 
Ingredients:
3 cups green beans, steamed and cut into bite-sized pieces
½  of a medium-large sweet onion, chopped
2 tbsp brown sugar
3 tbsp earth balance (or butter/margarine)
½ cup, plus ¼ cup panko breadcrumbs
¼ cup candied pecans, chopped
 
When finished steaming green beans, place them in a large bowl and set aside.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Melt earth balance and sugar together in a medium pan.  Add the onions and cook until translucent.  Pour onions and leftover liquid into the bowl with your green beans.  Add ½ cup of breadcrumbs and mix thoroughly.  Divide mixture evenly into to large custard dishes.  Sprinkle the top with the remaining breadcrumbs.  Place in oven and bake for 10 minutes.  Remove and add chopped pecans.  Bake for an additional 5 minutes.  Serve immediately.


 

You can obviously make this in a large casserole dish too if you are cooking for a lot of people, but for those with only 2 in your household like me, this makes just enough for a fun side dish.  I might rename this to “makes you feel a little better during a crappy week casserole”, because it really is magical like that.

9 Responses to “Thanksgiving 5, Day 3: Green Bean Casserole-ettes”

  1. Steve November 17, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    I love when food is prepared for individual eating. Its like the slider of casseroles!! Aweome dish..

    • amy41143 November 17, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      Me too! Anything served in a personal size rules!!

  2. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian November 17, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    This sounds like the perfect side! Yum!
    Sorry your week has been so crazy! Hopefully it starts to settle down a bit.

  3. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) November 17, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    I love the sound of this recipe. I like meals that are easy to make, especially after a busy day!

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD November 17, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    How cute! While I don’t love green beans, I do love individual serving sizes!!!

  5. realfunfood November 18, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    I love little mini things like this!! I totally miss green bean casserole too. I think my parents put dried oyster type things in it or something? I don’t know!

  6. blissfulbritt November 19, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I would like to have some of this, followed by some sweet potato cookies. On my doorstep..at noon.. on December 3rd.

Leave a Reply

