Thanksgiving 5 and Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes

8 Nov

Good evening/morning/afternoon. As you all know, Thanksgiving is just about 3 weeks away! I know this may surprise all of you (so brace yourself), but Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. A day that is dedicated to hanging out with loved ones, eating amazing food all day long, and kicking off a 4 day weekend. Oh yeah, and the Macy’s parade. Call me a child if you must, but I just love the balloons, the performances, and the overall corny-ness of it! And Santa Clause, of course. Anyway, being that this is The Whole Sweet Scoop’s first Thanksgiving, I decided to do a “Thanksgiving 5” – 5 posts between now and Thanksgiving, where I will provide different renditions of Turkey Day favorites. So, let’s get started! I consider myself a mashed potato connoisseur (very fancy), and this recipe was inspired by a trip to The Palm in NYC a few weeks ago. When we were deciding on our sides, there was a key word that stuck out on the menu. Goat cheese. As my eyes glanced to the words next to it, things began to get a little hazy. I nearly fainted. Mashed potatoes. What? Seriously? Why have I not heard of this? Why have I not thought of this? Cheddar cheese, sure. But goat cheese? I was as disappointed in myself as I was excited. They were honestly everything you think they would be and more. The goat cheese isn’t overpowering, but it definitely gives the mashed potatoes a “what is that” quality. In a very good way. It also works well because it is such a soft cheese that melts well. Cheddar cheese is good in mashed potatoes and all, but it definitely changes the consistency. This is sheer perfection.

Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes

Yield: 4 large servings

Ingredients:

10-12 small/med red potatoes, rinsed and chopped

4 oz goat cheese (spreadable, not crumbled)

2 tbsp earth balance (margarine or butter are fine too)

1/3 cup low fat milk (might be a little more or less depending on the size of your potatoes – you could probably eyeball it)

salt and pepper, to taste

Place potatoes in a large pot and fill with hot water until all potatoes are completely covered. Place on stovetop and bring to a boil. Cook potatoes for about 25 minutes – until they are fork tender. Drain and place back in pot. Using a fork, gently mash the potatoes a bit. Place goat cheese, earth balance, and milk on top of the potatoes. Using a hand mixer, mix together all of the ingredients, and whip the potatoes until smooth (or leave some lumps if that‘s your thing). Add desired amount of salt and pepper and serve immediately.

* Side note – I made these again the other day for 8 people, and the 4 oz was not enough. You couldn’t even taste the cheese, so keep that in mind

 

These would be so good for Thanksgiving! It’s a really great way to give the dish your own signature touch without being to over the top and untraditional. Steve and I both agreed that mashed potatoes will not be made in our house without goat cheese anymore. And he isn’t even a huge goat cheese fan. They’re that good! Let me know if you make them, I love talking potatoes! 

8 Responses to “Thanksgiving 5 and Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes”

  1. Steve November 9, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    These are delicious…Just enough flavor to be perfect without overpowering..So excited to have them again soon!!!!

  2. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian November 9, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Oh wow! These have my name written all over them! I love love love goat cheese!
    I think I will ask my fam if we can change up the potatoes this year! 🙂

    • amy41143 November 9, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      You won’t regret it!!

  3. Kiah November 9, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Those mashed potatoes look amazing!! I’ve been asked to bring a dish to Thanksgiving, and these are definitely on my radar now.

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) November 9, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I am drooling at the thought of those potatoes – I am a huge goats cheese fan!

  5. Natalie @Will Jog For Food November 10, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Great recipe! You gotta have mashed potatoes on thanksgiving 🙂

  6. Brittany November 10, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    No..no NO!!! OMG these potatoes are genius and look sooooo good!!!!! I NEED them now!

  7. Allison @ PickyEatingRD November 10, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    I love goat cheese, though my family is not as big of fans. I should just try to make these and see if they notice!

Leave a Reply

