Buffalo Hummus

6 Nov

Hi friends!  How was your weekend?  Good?  Good.  Today was the kind of day in the northeast that you just want to wrap up in a big bow.  It was such a beautiful day for the NYC marathon!  Those people are really inspiring.  Who would have thought that there would ever be 47,000 people running 26.2 miles in one day.  It’s crazy, but very cool!  My brother is a marathon-er and I would love to run one some day, although I can’t even fathom the thought right now.  However, I have decided that I’m going to step up my running, and start to train for a half marathon next spring.  I didn’t pick one yet…. I’m thinking the Disney half?  Or I’m sure Hawaii has one.  Or London?  Or maybe Jersey City (probably more realistic 😉 ).  For the millions of people who read this blog, I’m going to post my official training schedule once I really kick into gear.  Follow along.  Lets be crazy and run 13.1!  Who’s in?!  Tap tap, this thing on?

Ok, onto the recipe!  I stopped eating chicken 3 years ago and the only thing I occasionally miss is buffalo wings.  Not the wings themselves, but the buffalo sauce.  I just love it, but rarely ever see it offered on a menu unless it’s with chicken.  The other day I was at work thinking about hummus (this happens often), and I thought that a little heat would probably work really well with those little smushed up chickpeas.  The best part is that it was so easy to make, and the ingredients are items that we all have in our pantry.  And also that it came out awesome.  Really awesome.   Is it possible to not like whole chickpeas but love hummus?  Because I do. 

Buffalo Hummus

Yield: about a cup and a half

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/4 to 1/3 cup EVOO (depends on the consistency you prefer)

1/3 cup hot sauce (we used Frank’s Red Hot)

1 garlic clove

1 tsp onion powder

Place chickpeas in food processor and process until somewhat smooth.  Add the remaining ingredients and process until smooth and no lumps remain.

I am so excited to have buffalo back in my life again!  Steve, who is usually so-so on hummus, absolutely loved it too!  After a weekend of donuts, bagels, chocolate, mashed potatoes, ice cream, and pie, this is a welcome healthy snack for the upcoming week.  That sounds disgusting now that I’m actually reading it.  I guess that’s why people who want to lose weight are told to keep a journal of everything they eat.  It works.  I feel shamed.  Anyway, tomorrow we’re right back on track!

13 Responses to “Buffalo Hummus”

  1. cinquecentoproject November 7, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    Great recipe! I don’t eat chicken either and I love the sauce. I will have to try this.

    I am a runner and have done a half dozen half marathons (and one marathon and other long runs). I recommend either staying local for your first race (that way you can do truing runs on the actual route sometimes, you sleep better in your own bed, more friends and family can be on route cheering you on) or doing the destination event as a full vacation. My two cents. I love running and reading/talking about running/training – can’t wait to hear about your training!

    • amy41143 November 7, 2011 at 7:19 am #

      Thanks!! I’m excited to get going but am nervous too due to abdominal cramping I get sometimes when I run that has stopped me in the past. We’ll see what happens!

      • cinquecentoproject November 8, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

        I had some weird abdominal cramping in the past as I got into running. A key for me was (1) to be sufficiently hydrated all day, but have an empty bladder when I ran (i.e., use the bathroom immediately before your run); and (2) concentrate on breathing through my diaphragm. It made all the difference for me. The easiest trick for me was to breath in through my nose, and puff out my lungs; then breath out through my nose and mouth with pursed lips and picture my lungs collapsing as they pushed out all the “used” air.

        I’m making your dip tonight!

      • cinquecentoproject November 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

        Mmmm. Buffalo hummus = brilliant and tasty!

      • amy41143 November 8, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

        Good! Glad you like it!!
        Thanks for the running advice- I heard that the cramps could be from dehydration. It’s something I have to pay more attention to I guess.

  2. Steve November 7, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Buffalo and Hummus..What a great combination!!!

  3. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian November 7, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I love the idea of buffalo hummus! This recipe sounds just delicious!
    I did one half and would love to try one again..just nervous I guess. I injured my knee pretty bad. I have started running again without knee pain and I am doing a 12K on Thanksgiving!

    • amy41143 November 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Fun! I did a 5k turkey trot a few years ago- it makes you feel like you’re earning your meal!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) November 8, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    That looks like a lovely recipe – I like experimenting with different hummus flavours.
    I really enjoyed training and running a half marathon – it was a challengine, but manageable distance for me. The thought of a marathon is very scary – I might do one someday, but not any time soon!

  5. Brittany November 8, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    WOW this sounds awesome!!! AND it is unique..love it!!

  6. Natalie @Will Jog For Food November 8, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    As soon as I saw the title I knew I needed this! What a great idea!

  7. realfunfood November 18, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    I am totalllly trying this!!!!! If I lived in the US I’d send you some of the bottles of Frank’s I got for my recipe! I can not wait to try this. So healthy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “Radio, Radio, Radio Italia – solo la musica Italiana!” « The Cinquecento Project - November 9, 2011

    […] 4. Buffalo Hummus! Amy at The Whole Sweet Scoop posted a simple recipe for making spicy hummus sauce that rivals […]

Leave a Reply

