Howdy Strangers!

2 Nov

Hi!  Do you remember me?  My name is Amy.  I like food.  Remember?  So, what has happened during my unexpected time off?  Well, this:

View of the garages behind our unit

As we sat in the dark at home on Saturday night, all we heard were trees cracking and falling all over the place - it was crazy!

  
Just so you know, leaves still on trees + heavy, wet snow = massive power outages across the tri-state area.  It started snowing here around 10am on Saturday, and our power was out by 2pm.  Nobody had power for days.  We are very lucky that my sister took us all into her house which had a generator, so we didn’t freeze to death.  Thankfully, the power is back and normalcy has been restored.  One thing I learned was that when you don’t have power, you find yourself eating lots of the same things.  For me, it was chocolate peanut butter and banana sandwiches.  Not very exciting at all.  So tonight, I wanted to make something that would make up for my lack of variety – something with a little bit of everything.  Pears? Check.  Prosciutto?  Check.  Goat cheese?  Duh.  Fig preserves?  Check.  All wrapped up and beautifully thrown on a croissant crust?  Heaven.
 

Pear, Goat Cheese, Fig, Crostini

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

1 package croissant dough

1 pear

3 oz goat cheese (spreadable, not crumbled)

1 tbsp fig preserves

prosciutto (desired amount)

Preheat oven to 375F.  Unroll croissant dough into 2 seperate crostini’s.  Spread goat cheese evenly onto the dough. Spread fig preserves on top of cheese.  Use a mandolin slicer to cut up the pear, and place desired amount on both crostini’s.  Top with desired amount of prosciutto – I recommend using a decent amount to cut the sweetness from the crust, fig preserves, and pears.  Place in oven and bake for approx 20 minutes.
 

Always standing by for the crumbs..

I like recipes that allow you to use whatever you have on hand and make it look like you did it on purpose.  This is one of those recipes, so feel free to tweak as needed. 
I also want to wish everybody Happy Holidays, since November first is the official start of the season in my household.  There is so much to look forward to right now – mainly awesome holiday recipe goodness that is going to start pretty much immediately on this blog.  Yay!  I also met with my new advisor for the first time earlier this evening, and planned my schedule for my first semester in grad school!  Science?  What’s science?  That’s a funny sounding word…. What does it mean?  Scary stuff, but I’m so excited to get started!

13 Responses to “Howdy Strangers!”

  1. Steve November 3, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Keep the specialty pizzas coming..I could eat pizza everyday if could!

  2. Natalie @Will Jog For Food November 3, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Glad everything is back to normal! I need that crostini 🙂

    • amy41143 November 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      Thanks! You should make it, it’s really easy!

  3. Liz @ Southern Charm November 3, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    YUM!!! This looks so AMAZING!! I’m drooling.

    What a meal to have since all of those bananas!

    • amy41143 November 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      Haha yeah I’m banana’d out for the time being!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) November 3, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Wow – that was a really fraky storm! I’m not sure what I’d do without power for a long time … I guess you just have to get on with it!

    • amy41143 November 3, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      We were actually lucky, there are people who still don’t have power!

  5. Kiah November 3, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Ummm I think we have a lot in common. Crazy snow storm? check. What is science (but I’m taking grad courses in it)? check. haha

    • amy41143 November 3, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

      Haha! That storm was out of control, I can’t handle snow before Thanksgiving!

  6. Irene November 3, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Love the pear, goat cheese, proscuitto recipe – definitely one for the holidays 🙂

    Mom

  7. Debbie Hoernlein November 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    I love th recipe. It sounds yummy. I think I will try it for my book club this month.

  8. realfunfood November 4, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I’m loving that recipe!! And snow?? Jeez. It seems too early for snow!

Leave a Reply

