Pumpkin Joy

28 Oct

Right when I think I have exhausted my pumpkin recipes for the year, I come across a recipe for pumpkin chia pudding here and the next thing I know I am sneaking off to the food store in a sweatshirt, with the hood up, and big sunglasses to hide my face to buy one more can of pumpkin (there may or may not have been a struggle with an old lady over the last can).  I stick it in my bag and sneak into the house.  Steve isn’t home yet.  Score.  I make the pudding – which takes all of 2 minutes, cover the remaining pumpkin and stick it in the back of my fridge behind the mayo so it will not be spotted.  I also cover the pudding with tin foil and stick it in the fridge – I’ll never get caught!  My skin is now turning a light, orange, snooki-like hue.  I am also starting to grow a stem on the top of my head.  My cover is blown. 
 
So here it is, folks, one last hurrah with pumpkin for 2011.  <– That’s just a lie

Pumpkin Chia Pudding
Yield: 2 serving
 
Ingredients:
½ cup canned pumpkin
½ cup milk of your choice
2 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp chia seeds
cinnamon and ginger to taste
 
Mix all ingredients in a small bowl with a whisk.  Refrigerate for at least 3 hours.


You can layer ginger cookies like a triffle

 


I was at Bed Bath and Beyond over the weekend, and noticed that they have a huge new section called The Marketplace (or The Market – something along those lines) with all specialty foods!  I bought special chocolate peanut butter and these soft ginger/dark chocolate cookies.  They are *so* good!  If you see them, buy them – trust me they are awesome!  They look like this:


 
 
Crumble some of these bad boys over your pumpkin chia pudding and you’ve got yourself a serious dessert that is good for you (depending how many cookies you eat with it 😉 )!
 
Have a good Friday!!

9 Responses to “Pumpkin Joy”

  1. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian October 28, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    You can keep the pumpkin recipes coming! I just love it!
    This looks amazing and I bet you the crumbled cookies take it over the edge. 🙂

    • amy41143 October 28, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Thanks! I really do love my pumpkin haha

  2. Steve October 28, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Awesome quick snack! Yet another wonderful way to enjoy the fall season!

    • amy41143 October 28, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      I’m glad you liked it! Now what to do with the rest of that can in the fridge..

  3. Brittany October 28, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    I am coming over, and you must make me one of these. This looks delicious! You can make a ton of pumpkin masterpieces with all the pumpkins you bought at the farms! Ha!

    • amy41143 October 28, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      Haha come on by! Seriously though, I’m crazy pumpkin lady!

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 30, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Adding ginger cookies – love this idea!!! I love those cookies especially this time of year.

  5. Liz @ Southern Charm November 1, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    LOVE this! Bet it would be one amazing morning dish! Can’t wait to try! My chia seeds have been neglected lately.

  6. sarahsmodernbites November 2, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Excellent recipe! And seriously, I would have done the same ting as you after discovering such a tempting recipe… I can’t tell you how many times I have scooted out of the house (Or even my office yikes!) just after being inspired by something I just haaad to make or the world would end haha

    In fact, I’m kinda dying to get out of work now so I can go buy some chia seeds!

Leave a Reply

