Best Chocolate Chip Cookies.. and a quick side-note

22 Oct

Hi!  I’m back after a few days off from blogging.  Why you ask?  Well, we decided to take off to Paris on our private jet for a few days of shopping and dining School, work, and a migraine.  Sorry it’s nothing more exciting!  So, this migraine I speak of came out of the blue on Wednesday and lasted all. Day. Long.  Really brain?  I thought we were friends?  I can’t take the typical migraine medicines because they have caffeine and me + caffeine= jittery, anxious, nightmare.  I couldn’t stomach the thought of eating anything all day.  That is until I got home from work, hit the couch in sweats with the lights dimmed, and suddenly a chocolate chip cookie popped in my head.  When Steve was insisting that I eat something, I told him the only thing I could possibly eat was chocolate chip cookie.  Then I got the look.  That’s why I was shocked when he said that because I always cook for him, he wanted to make cookies for me!  I knew the recipe I wanted him to try, and gave him a few modifications to make it a quicker and easier process.  They came out amazing.  I’ve had some good chocolate chip cookies in my day, but I think these might take the cake.  They have the perfect consistency.  Flat, chewy, with a bit of crispiness around the edges.  I adapted these from Angela who messed around with many different recipes before she found the perfect cookie.  Well done, Angela, well done.
 

Thin and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yield: 12-14 large cookies
Ingredients Bold Underline is what we did:
7 tbsp Earth Balance + 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (or 1/2 cup Earth Balance- see note) ½ cup Earth Balance
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup cane sugar (or use white) turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)
1 flax egg: (1 tbsp ground flaxed mixed with 3 tbsp water) 1 regular egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour 1 ¼ cup whole wheat pastry flour
3/4 cup all-purpose flour didn’t use
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp molasses (optional)
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
 Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray cookie sheet and set aside.  In a medium bowl, beat the earth balance until fluffy.  Add brown sugar, turbinado sugar, and egg and beat until well blended.  Mix in the remaining ingredients, adding the chocolate chips last.  Using a spoon or cookie scooper, place balls of dough on your cookie sheet.  Bake for 12 minutes.

This is what happens when boys take baked goods out of the oven..

Thanks Steve, these really hit the spot!  Quick side note:  While these cookies are awesome right out of the oven, these are even better the next day, so if you want to bring them with you to a party or get together, I would make them the night before.

Next item of business, New Jersey.  This is for the NJ haters of the world out there.  If you are not a NJ hater, you are free to go for the day if you choose.  I realize that most people hear the words “New Jersey” and suddenly have horrific images like these flash through your brain at an uncontrollable rate:

                                                                Source

                                                                Source

I get it, I really do.  And I would be lying if I said that there aren’t certain towns, bars, and clubs that you will definitely have these nightmarish images come to a terrifying reality.  I myself have tried going to a friendly happy hour at a new bar/restaurant with some co-workers, only to be found later on that night, in the corner of my room, balled up in fetal position rocking back and forth with images of crazy haired, orange monsters dancing through my head.  However, the majority of these people, and the majority of gross areas make up a very small percentage of the state.  In fact, 99% of New Jersians (it’s a technical term) are surprisingly normal, and 99% of NJ (ok, maybe 85% – but don’t all states have their bad areas?) is actually really nice.  Farms, fresh produce, the best bagels in the world (yeah I went there 🙂 ),  rolling hills.  And goats.  Lots of goats. 


 

Yeah, he knows he’s good looking

Doesn’t get better than this!

OK.. So that last one is from our honeymoon in the Canadian Rockies..  I think you get the picture!
While I don’t doubt that there are better places to live in the world, having access to NYC, beaches, farms, some of the best restaurants in the world, and mountainous regions like the Catskills and the Adirondack’s, is pretty cool.  So haters, please leave us alone you big bullies.  I’m not Snookie.  Steve is not Pauly D.  My family is not the Saprano’s.  The end 😉

*I’ve been reading a lot of negative things about NJ, and I just wanted to share my side, being that I’ve lived here my whole life

13 Responses to “Best Chocolate Chip Cookies.. and a quick side-note”

  1. cinquecentoproject October 22, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    Beautiful NJ pictures! Gorgeous, really. Whoo hoo.

  2. Steve October 22, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I’m wish I could eat those cookies everyday.. Glad I gave it a shot.

  3. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian October 22, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Those cookies look just amazing! It is making me seriously have a craving right now. 😉
    I went to NJ once for a wedding and the area I saw was beautiful.

  4. Debbie Hoernlein October 22, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Cookies look amazingly delicious. Here’s a shout out to Steve! Good Job. Goats are very handsome!

  5. Brittany October 22, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I love NJ!! I visited once a while ago because my grandpa lives there..the media image of NJ is nothing like the places I saw. OMG those cookies looks delicious. Feel free to package and ship me your leftovers..

    • amy41143 October 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Haha they’re long gone!

  6. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) October 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    I think people tend to have strong prejudices about certain places which aren’t true. There’s certainly loads of different stereotypes in the UK. Your photos of NJ look wonderful 🙂

  7. jenandberries October 22, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Oh wow that place you went on your honeymoon is just gorgeous! Steve is a cutie making you cookies on request – well done with that one girly! Hey if I ever go to the uS (which is unlikely on my current living in my overdraft status), I definitely want to go to NJersey with all that city stuff not far away, and still be able to come home and feed goats when I felt like it 😉

  8. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 23, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    I once had an interview a longggg time ago in NJ and was shocked! As soon as I was 10 miles away from the airport (give or take) it looked just like those pictures above. I love NJ!

    • amy41143 October 24, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      Yeah the airport is placed in the nastiest part of NJ. It smells around there, it’s so gross!

  9. realfunfood October 24, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    You’re really selling New Jersey! I want to live in NYC so bad but my husband says absolutely not, so maybe Jersey will be a good compromise 🙂 Also, that last picture of the Canadian Rockies – wow!

    • amy41143 October 24, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      NJ is a great compromise for people who love the city but don’t want to live there

Leave a Reply

