Pulled Pork Pizza

18 Oct

What a weekend!  Here in the northeast it was absolutely beautiful outside.  I’m talking sunny with temperatures in the 50’s and 60’s.  Perfection.  Friday night, we had our pizza party part deux with two of our close friends – this time at their place.  After that, we met up with two friends from out of state and we all went to a haunted house.  I am not the haunted house kind of gal – I don’t like people jumping out on me, following me, harassing me, and I usually just find those things tacky and silly.  Bah Humbug!  The one we went to was called BANE and it was actually pretty good… for a haunted house.  They did a few things that were different, and definitely not run of the mill, which I can respect.  And proceeds go to the Make A Wish Foundation, which I definitely liked.  This was supposed to be a glowing review, but reading what I just wrote doesn’t sounds very selling!  Oh well, I tried 😉 
Onto the pizza!  This time, they made a delicious Greek pizza with spinach, feta, parmesan, bell peppers, and hot pepper flakes. 

So good!  Next up was the main course which was pulled pork BBQ pizza.  I made the pulled pork in the slow cooker earlier that day, and set it on low for 10 hours.  We already decided that it is going to be made again at some point this week again.  The pork was just perfect – the flavors, consistency, and juiciness would lead one to believe that they were eating pork that was slow cooked all day in a smoker down in Tennessee.  I guarantee you will not be disappointed if you make this – whether it be for pizza or sandwiches.  The best part is that it was so incredibly easy to make.  This is a must for BBQ lovers!
 
Pulled Pork Pizza
Yield:  1 pie, with enough pulled pork leftover for about 2 sandwiches
 
Ingredients for Pulled Pork:
3 lb pork shoulder, bone in
1 bottle Sam Adams Oktoberfest
1 tbsp mustard seed
1 tbsp poultry seasoning
Salt and pepper
1 bottle Guy Fieri’s Carolina Mop and Slop BBQ Sauce
 
Ingredients for Pizza:
Pulled Pork (about 3 cups worth, but you can eyeball it depending on how big your pizza is)
¼  lb prepared cole slaw
1 ball of pizza dough
BBQ sauce
 
Cut any large pieces of fat off your meat.  Place in slow cooker, pour bottle of beer over the meat, and sprinkle with seasonings.  Place slow cooker on low for 10 hours.  Using tongs, remove pork and place in a large mixing bowl (the meat is going to come out in pieces and will fall right off the bone, so you don’t have to worry about that).  Pull apart the pork by using two forks – you will be surprised what little effort this takes!  Add about 2 ladlefuls of the juices leftover in the slow cooker  to your pulled pork.  Pour half of the bottle of your BBQ sauce in with the meat as well, and mix thoroughly.  Preheat oven to 400F.  Prepare the pizza dough and cook it in the oven, either on a pizza stone or cookie sheet, for about 10-12 minutes.  Remove from oven and place pulled pork on top and cook for an additional 5 minutes.  Place cole slaw on top of the pork and spread evenly.  Drizzle remaining BBQ sauce on top and serve immediately.


 


I knew that there was no way I was going to have time to make my own BBQ sauce on Friday, so when we were food shopping the other day, we wanted to be sure to pick a really good one.  When I saw Guy Fieri’s new line of BBQ sauces, I was a little skeptical.  A lot of times these celebrity chef’s just throw their names on anything to make money.  However, the ingredient list looked really good and the consistency was that of a real BBQ joint.  Not your typical thick BBQ sauce, but much thinner than the others, which I really liked.  Well, I cannot put into words how good this BBQ sauce was.  It was perfect for pulled pork, and tasted so homemade that I told Steve I probably won’t make BBQ sauce anymore, because it can’t compare to how good this was.  Now that is how you endorse something!  Sorry haunted house..

 

*I purchased Guy Fieri’s BBQ sauce on my own and was not compensated to review it

15 Responses to “Pulled Pork Pizza”

  1. realfunfood October 18, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Ha ha, I love the idea of a pulled pork pizza! I also might add some slaw too. It’s become a habit. Any time I have pulled pork I MUST have slaw to put on top!

  2. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian October 18, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    I love trying new tastes on pizza..like bbq. This looks amazing!
    I love guy! Glad to hear it was tasty. I’ll keep my eye out for it!

  3. Steve October 18, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    What a great pizza. That BBQ sauce was the cherry on top of what was a belly filling tasty meal that I hope to enjoy many times over in the future!

    • amy41143 October 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

      Like, say, 3 days from now? 🙂

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) October 18, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    I love pizza – both of those flavours sound delicious!
    I’ve never been to a haunted house – I’m not sure that it would be my sort of thing, but it sounds kinda fun 🙂

    • amy41143 October 18, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Haunted houses definitely aren’t for everyone. It can be fun with a good group though.

  5. Natalie @Will Jog For Food October 18, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    DELISH! I’m so making this!

  6. Patrick October 18, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I love pulled pork! I never thought of putting it on pizza, this looks fantastic! We will have to try this sometime soon. Thanks!

  7. Allie @ PickyEatingRD October 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Believe it or not I have never had pulled pork. The only pork I have had – pork chops! It looks easy and tasty enough so I may have to give it a go!

    • amy41143 October 19, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      That’s just craziness! You have to let me know what you think!

  8. spinach&spice October 19, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    You and your crockpot creations 🙂 Keep them coming! They all look fantastic.. and they’re so easy!

  9. Brittany October 20, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Bahaha I love Guy, he is so fun to watch! I need to try this sauce now.

  10. Kiah October 20, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Yesssss! This totally makes me miss my southern roots…MA pulled pork just doesn’t cut it 🙂

  11. Jackie October 27, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Ah, the infamous pulled pork pizza. One of the best meals I’ve ever had. Thank you so much for making that for dinner! Mexican-style pizzas are up next. I can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

