Arthur Avenue

14 Oct

*Warning – this is in no way a healthy eating post.  However, being balanced and letting yourself go a little crazy now and then is part of a healthy lifestyle, in my opinion 😉 
Last Saturday we celebrated my mom’s birthday.  When we asked her a few weeks back what she wanted to do, she said that she want to go to Arthur Avenue in the Bronx, walk around the different marketplaces, and basically buy a ton of food that we could come back to her house and cook.  Sign me up!  I was so excited until I remembered that I have my bowling class on Saturday mornings and I wouldn’t be able to make it.  For some reason, my professor is super strict with attendance.  Bummer.  Steve was going to just go with everyone, but woke up not feeling well.  Darn weather is getting everyone lately!  Maybe it has something to do with it being 50 and raining one day and 85 and sunny with 90% humidity the next.  Northeastern nonsense this year!  So, we had to sit out the trip to the Bronx, but met everyone at my mom’s later in the day for the binging dinner.  We’re so fortunate to live within 10 minutes of my brother and my mom, and 30 minutes from my sister.  So folks, here it is.

 
Started with bread, then had some bread dipped in bread, followed by bread sandwiches.  In all seriousness, there was a lot of bread – and it was hands down the best bread I have ever had in my entire life.  Coming from this part of the country, that is not a statement to be taken lightly.


 
I’m usually not a big olive fan, but the olive loaf was the softest, doughiest, bread ever.  I think we all averaged around 5 pieces each!  Including my niece..


 
I’m actually not a big sausage person either, but this sausage was outrageously good.


 
This pasta was hands down the best part of the meal.  The spinach angel hair in particular was so fresh, you could actually taste the spinach in it.  It was the perfect consistency.  They make it fresh every single morning, and you can really tell.

                                                      See?  It wasn’t all bad..


 
After dinner, my nephew was showing off the yoga moves he learned at school, and my little niece shadowed his every move.  At least some of us ended the night with a workout.  Check out that form – it’s better than mine!


  
So as you can see, we’re obviously on low carb diets so a huge birthday cake and 2 trays of Italian cookies pumpkin pie soft serve was the dessert of choice 😉
If you are fortunate enough to live anywhere close to Arthur Avenue, you have to get over there one day.  We’re already talking about our next trip back.

14 Responses to “Arthur Avenue”

  1. Steve October 14, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Wow..everything was so fresh and good…Can’t wait to make the trip out there next time!

  2. Brittany October 14, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    OH my gosh…this food looks AMAZING!!! I literally am drooling over that bread and pasta!!

  3. Kristen @ swanky dietitian October 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your mom!
    Everything looks just amazing!! I love bread… Maybe a little too much!
    That olive kind sounds heavenly!!!

  4. jenandberries October 14, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Your niece is far too cute with her yoga and olive bread – she needs her own blog! Happy birthday to your mummy, it sounds like you all had a lush time. Pumpkin soft serve sounds delicious too!

    • amy41143 October 15, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Thanks! Yeah, she’s really funny!

  5. betty October 15, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    I am a sausage person, not kidding I eat everything that has sausage, your niece looks so cute on her chair!!

  6. Debbie Hoernlein October 15, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    All the food looks so delicious. I think I would like to make a trip out there.

    Happy Birthday to Irene!

  7. Kiah October 15, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I’m so glad I stumbled across your blog, because kids doing yoga makes my day–any day 🙂 Too cute…and great form on the downward dog!

  8. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) October 16, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    That bread looks so good! I love olive bread in particular. It sounds like a really special birthday meal 🙂

  9. spinach&spice October 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    This is completely drool-worthy!
    And our weather in Ohio has been crazy lately too.
    Love family time and good food.. great post, Amy!

  10. Natalie @Will Jog For Food October 17, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Delish! I would die for some olive bread 🙂

  11. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 17, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Yep I followed a “low carb” diet this weekend as well – sweet potatoes, grilled cheese, lasagna haha!

Leave a Reply

