The Best Stew in the World!

12 Oct

Is this not the most perfect apple you’ve ever seen?  I actually bought him (yes, it’s a boy) because he was so photogenic!

Anyway, this post has nothing to do with apples, I just wanted to share.  Did you ever have one of those days where you wake up with a wave of relief that it is Friday only to be reminded by the news that it is only Tuesday?  Yeah, that happened to me yesterday.  And again this morning.  That’s just not nice, brain, playing tricks like that.  We have an awesome weekend coming up with some really fun activities like: pizza party part deux, haunted houses, fancy shmancy dinner in the city, and visiting farms.  Since 3 out of the 4 things I just mentioned involve food, I’m sure I won’t be lacking on things to write about next week.  I guess this is why my brain is determined to make everyday be Friday this week.  But then again, we shouldn’t be wishing our lives away, so I’m still planning on enjoying the next few days.  At least the hours that I’m not at work 😉
On Monday I made my favorite stew.  The recipe is from my mom, and it is so easy and straight forward, but so incredibly good that I make it every single year without changing anything about it.  I chopped up the carrots, bell pepper, and meat on Sunday night, so the only thing I had to do was cut up some potatoes in the morning and throw everything in the slow cooker.  It is so nice to stop home before class and have a hot, filling meal just waiting.  And we have enough leftovers for the rest of the week!  And we all know how stew gets better every day it sits and marinates in itself..
 
Moms Stew
Yield: about 6 big servings
 
Ingredients:

2 lbs round steak, chopped into bite sized pieces

1 lb carrots chopped into 1 inch pieces (1 bag of baby carrots is typically 1 lb)

5-6 red potatoes, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

¼ cup flour

1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes

1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste

½ cup low sodium beef broth

½ cup red wine (good enough to drink)

1 ½ tsp salt

½ tsp dried thyme

Pepper, to taste

Place all ingredients in slow cooker and mix well.  Cook for 7 ½ hours on low heat.

All chopped up the night before. Sorry, I know this is gross.


Before..

After..

It really doesn’t get any easier than that, so there are no excuses .  For the non-cooks: You are not cooking, just chopping a few thing and dumping it in a slow cooker.  For the “I don’t have time-ers”:  You can chop everything up the night before.  It takes 10 minutes.  For the vegetarians:  Use beans instead of meat?  Mushrooms?  I’m not sure.  And I forgot to mention the most important part!  This is magical stew.  Steve was sick, ate a bowl and now he is better!
 
*Disclaimer:  This is not actually magical stew 🙂

I”m going to leave you with one more picture of the new good-looking guy in my life:

13 Responses to “The Best Stew in the World!”

  1. Steve October 12, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Should I be worried about the apple moving in on my goods? HaHa.. Can’t wait for some stew for lunch, gonna hit the spot!

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 12, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Apples are so amazing right now! It makes me sad when I think about how lack luster they are the rest of the year =/

  3. sarahsmodernbites October 12, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Lovely apple! Is it a Honeycrisp? Finding ‘perfect’ looking fruit is so much fun… but I always feel bad eating them!

    Wonderful recipe as well! It certainly is slow cooker season… can’t wait to make a nice pot of beef stew on a cold day!

    • amy41143 October 12, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      Yes, it is a honeycrisp! I don’t think I can bring myself to eat it quite yet haha

  4. realfunfood October 12, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Your new guy is super sexy 🙂

  5. spinach&spice October 12, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    You know I love my crockpot.. and my family loves beef! Thank you thank you for this recipe! 😀

  6. Brittany October 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I love that you mention this is not actually cooking, just throwing things into a pot. I still call that cooking!! I would love to meet this new man in your life, but have a feeling he wont be around for long.

    • amy41143 October 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      No, he’s pretty much a goner haha

  7. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) October 12, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    This recipe looks so simple, but delicious! Beans would definitely work – butter beans are my favourite in stews because they have a hearty texture.
    Beautiful apple 🙂

  8. decoybetty October 12, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I don’t have a slow cooker, but recipes like these always make me wish I did!

  9. Natalie @Will Jog For Food October 13, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Great recipe!! Perfect for my slow cooker 🙂

Leave a Reply

