Cake Review and Overnight Oats

10 Oct

                   Sorry for the poor pictures, I only had my phone with me

I think I found my new go-to cake recipe for the next few months.  You would never even know that there were dates in this cake because they practically melt away in the cooking process, only leaving sweet little gooey morsels throughout the cake.  The topping, which sunk into the cake during round two of baking, turned out to be this amazing, sweet, coconut filling – almost like a stuffed cake.  So good!  This is a definite keeper – I may even add some pumpkin to the batter next time (GASP – I’m such a rebel 😉 )!
 
Onto the next order of business.  Overnight oats are pretty much a staple for food bloggers.  However, whenever they come up in a conversation with friends, family, and co-workers, they have no idea what I am talking about.  To this day I get funny looks when I explain it to somebody.  Overnight oats, to those who do not know, are my #1 favorite go-to breakfast ever.  I have them at least 3 days a week.  Convenient, versatile, fast, filling, and good for you.  What is not to like?  Below is a very basic recipe, but once you get used to making it you can add anything you fancy.  Mashed bananas, cocoa powder, granola, diced fruit, vegetables (grated carrots or zucchini actually work really well), etc.
 
Overnight Oats
Yield: 1 serving
 
Ingredients:
½ cup rolled oats
¾ cup milk of your choice (I prefer almond milk in my oats – the chocolate almond milk is crazy good)
1 tbsp chia seeds
¼ cup shredded coconut
 
Toppings:
1 tbsp peanut butter (any nut butter works)
1 tbsp maple syrup for drizzling
 
Mix all ingredients in a small bowl.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.  In the morning, add the toppings of your choice and mix well. 


 

Pretty sure the oats in these pictures have more than 1 tbsp of chia seeds.  I tend to go a little nuts because they are so healthy.  The idea of cold oats might not sound very appetizing (Steve was not excited the first time I made them and he was “forced” to try it either), but I have yet to meet one person who makes these and is not instantly converted into an overnight oats junky.

8 Responses to “Cake Review and Overnight Oats”

  1. Steve October 10, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Cake was awesome! So moist and tasty…

  2. Health Freak College Girl October 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    yummy that cake looks so good!

    • amy41143 October 10, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      It was so easy too – I highly recommend trying it!

  3. Brittany October 10, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I loovee baking things that have secret hidden ingredients!! It makes it that much better and you can get people to admit the sweets taste good and then tell them, “HA there are fruits and veggies stuffed into these bad boys!”

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 10, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I think I am the only one in the world who doesn’t like overnight oats! Crazy right?!?!

  5. jenandberries October 11, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Oh my gosh your blog rocks! And the cake and overnighters look so yum, would it work without the chia seeds do you think? (can’t find them anywhere!)

    • amy41143 October 11, 2011 at 8:18 am #

      Thanks for the kind words! Try amazon.com- I’ve seen chia seeds on there before. In the meantime though, it will work without them, just add a little more oats to soak up more if the milk 🙂

Leave a Reply

