Gooey Date Coconut Cake

6 Oct

We are going to my mom’s house tonight to celebrate Steve’s birthday (a little late) with dinner and cake.  I got the standard boy answer of “I don’t care” when I asked him what he wanted for dinner, so I figured I would make a taco station because this was a yummy, quick, easy, and a little different option.  Lunch time today will consist of a trip to the food store to pick up lean ground beef and taco shells along with, avocadoes and ingredients for guacamole, sour cream (low fat), shredded lettuce, and salsa to put out for self-serving.  I’m going to skip the cheese because my nephew is so allergic that he can’t even be around it.  I might have to skip the sour cream too, I’ll have to see what my brother and SIL say.  Typically, when Steve and I have a “taco night” we use fat-free chobani in place of sour cream and it is really good actually!  However, I don’t want to scare people so low-fat sour cream it is 😉
For the cake, I made a Sticky Date and Coconut Cake.  I found the recipe in Cooking Light and the picture looked so good that Steve has been dying to try it.  I modified it a little, so I put my version below.  I used to not like dates, even though I never really had them before a few months ago.  I would stay away from anything “date” related because it just reminded me of great-grandmas for some reason.  Am I the only one?  Then I started seeing so many great recipes online that included dates so I decided to get over my unjustified hatred.  The first time I bought them to cook with, I was a little (a lot) turned off by their appearance.  The shape and size kind of resembled a bug that shall remain nameless.  However, once pureed these feelings went away and I was so incredibly excited at how my dessert came out.  Now I love dates.  Although I still won’t pop a whole one into my mouth (it has to be chopped) because of my “bug” issue.  I must say that I am not the only weird one.  Steve does not eat sliced mushrooms because he thinks that they look like dog’s noses.  I kid you not.  What a pair we are!  🙂  Moral of the story:  Try cooking with dates, they are so very good and are also packed with fiber and potassium!
 
Sticky Date and Coconut Cake– Adapted from Cooking Light 
 
Cake Ingredients:
1 cup chopped dates
1 cup water
1 tsp baking soda
3 tbsp margarine (earth balance for vegan)
Pinch of salt
1 ½ cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 cup turbinado sugar (regular sugar can also be used)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg, lightly beaten (flax egg for vegan)
 
Topping Ingredients:
2/3 cup organic brown sugar (light or dark)
½ cup shredded coconut
2 ½ tbsp margarine (earth balance for vegan)
2 tsp milk (cow skim milk, soy, coconut, almond, whatever you have on hand)
 
Preheat oven to 350F.  In a small saucepan, bring chopped dates, water, baking soda, margarine, and pinch of salt to a boil.  Once boiling, remove from heat and let mixture sit for about 10 minutes so the dates soften.  In a large bowl, mix whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, salt, sugar, vanilla, and egg until blended thoroughly.  Add date mixture and stir until fully incorporated.  Pour batter into a greased 9 inch spring form pan and place in oven for 20 minutes.
While the cake is baking, prepare the topping by adding the brown sugar, coconut, margarine, and milk to a small saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer until you take the cake out of the oven.  Pour topping mixture over the cake and place back in oven for another 13 minutes.

*Resist the urge to put any frosting on this cake.  Between the dates and the coconut topping you have plenty of sweetness!

All greased up

 

 

Topping

The way the cake absorbed the gooey topping excited me greatly!  It’s going to make for an awesome surprise filling.  I really can’t write about how it came out yet because we won’t be eating it until tonight, but I will be sure to give an official review in my next post.  And in all seriousness, don’t make the mistake I did by shying away from dates for so long.  They really add so much to recipes, and I know they are going to be what takes this cake over the top with its gooey center.  Or so I assume 😉

17 Responses to “Gooey Date Coconut Cake”

  1. Kristen - Swanky Dietitian October 6, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    This cake looks amazing! A Happy Belated Bday to Steve!!
    I love using greek yogurt as sour cream. People look at me crazy sometimes when I tell them this.

    • amy41143 October 6, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      Greek yogurt is so versatile, it really is a healthy super food. Love it!

  2. Steve October 6, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Can’t wait to try this cake out. Smelled so good in the house when I came home last night!

    • amy41143 October 6, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      Ha hopefully it tastes as good as it smells. I just can’t forget to pick it up at lunch today!

  3. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) October 6, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Oh yum – that cake looks delicious!
    I don’t like sour cream (or cream at all actually), so I always use greek yoghurt instead and I think it works really well.

  4. Debbie Hoernlein October 6, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    The cake looks absolutely delicious. I Love dates. I know everyone will enjoy the dinner and desert

  5. mycreativeflavors October 6, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Hi There, this is an interesting coconut cake. will surely try this recipe of yours. Best Regards, sonia

    • amy41143 October 7, 2011 at 7:45 am #

      Thanks! I’ll be posting an update tomorrow, but it came out really good!

  6. Health Freak College Girl October 6, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    wow! this sounds great!

  7. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 6, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    Yum Yum Yum! I love dates. Let us know how it tastes!

    • amy41143 October 7, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      You love dates?! Haha you have to try this then!

  8. sarahsmodernbites October 7, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    YUM! I am wondering if this could be tweaked into a gluten free cake using some combo of gluten free flours…? My boyfriend and I LOVE coconut so this would be a fun cake to snack on. Yes, we like to have cake in the house at all times! haha

    dates = natures candy

    Happy weekend! 😀

    • amy41143 October 7, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      We always have cake, cookies, or some kind of homemade bars on our counter at all times too! I have to end every meal with something sweet!

  9. spinach&spice October 7, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Dates and coconut. you know me too well girlfriend 😉 This looks and sounds incredible!

  10. Brittany October 7, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    YUUUMMMMM! Have fun tonight!!

  11. Natalie @Will Jog For Food October 9, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I love cooking light, they have awesome recipes! The cake looks awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

