Grrrranola!

30 Sep

Sorry about that, I miss Tony the tiger.  Is he still around? 🙂

I have to admit, there was a time when granola ruled my life.  The amount I would consume on a daily basis was borderline embarrassing.  One day,  I took a step back and reevaluated my relationship with it, and since then have been working on eating normal amounts – like a normal person!  It also helped that I tried everything in my power to not turn the oven on during the summer months (even with the air on, it gets too hot), and I had become so accustomed to my granola, that I didn’t really enjoy the premade stuff that we could get at the store.  Therefore, this is my first batch of granola since May!  So exciting!  What is better than a food that you can make yourself, exactly to your liking?  I don’t enjoy nuts in my granola (odd?), but I love shredded coconut in it.  You put only the ingredients you enjoy in it, and can decide your own measurements based on your liking.  Anyway, this is my go-to granola recipe which I kicked up a bit for fall.  I believe I said I was going to cool it with the pumpkin recipes, right?  Well, I lied!  Next few posts will be pumpkin-free, I promise… Maybe 😉
 
Fall Granola
Yield: about 4 cups
 
Ingredients:

3 cups rolled oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill GF)
½ cup shredded coconut
¼ cup peanut butter (or nut butter of your choice)
¼ cup pumpkin puree
¼ cup maple syrup
¼ cup honey
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
¼ cup chopped dark chocolate

½ cup craisins (or any dried-fruit)

* I also added 2 tbsp chia seeds and 1/4 cup of ground flax, but this is optional

 Preheat oven to 350F.  In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except for craisins.  Once everything is fully incorporated, spread granola evenly on a baking sheet.  Place in oven for 10 minutes.  Take out and flip the granola around a bit for even baking (this also will spread the melted chocolate around so you get those yummy clusters).  Place back in oven and bake for another 10-15 minutes.  While granola is cooling, sprinkle the craisins evenly over your batch. 

*I should mention that I ran out of craisins, so these pictures reflect my naked, craisin-free granola

Before Baking

After Baking

 Granola Perfection!

This is going to be a problem, I feel my old habits coming back already!
 
Do you have any foods that make you weak?  What are they?

7 Responses to “Grrrranola!”

  1. cinquecentoproject September 30, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Yea!!!! I love making granola too, girl. Inspiring. Yours looks so delicious.

  2. cinquecentoproject September 30, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Yea!!!! I love making granola too, girl. Inspiring. Yours looks so delicious.

  3. Steve September 30, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    You are keeping the pumpkin canners in business! That granola is great!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 30, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Granola is soooo addictive! Amazingly tasty though 🙂

  5. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian September 30, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Pumpkin and peanut butter! Oh my gosh, what a great combo of flavors.

  6. Debbie Hoernlein September 30, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Yum! My two favorites, Pumpkin and Peanut butter. I can’t wait to try

  7. Brittany October 4, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Oh my goodness granola!!! YUM! I need to make this for “dessert” or for ANYTIME granola.

Leave a Reply

