Pumpkin Pie Soft Serve

26 Sep

I know I’ve been gone for a few days, but I’ve been busy trying to get over my illness and catching up on schoolwork.  Today is Steve’s birthday and I had school until 8, so I’m going to make this post quick so I can hang out with him while it’s still his birthday!
Last night, I wanted something cool and refreshing because it was so hot and muggy out.  I’m also still trying to kick this bug, so I wanted it to be somewhat healthy.  Ok, that and the fact that I went to an Oktoberfest festival earlier in the day and ate a gigantic piece of beehive cake, which had about a 3 inch layer of bavarian cream.

So after this, I couldn’t stomach any more refined sugar.  I know I’ve been a little crazy with the pumpkin recipes lately, but I can’t help it!  I also had an opened can that I didn’t want to go bad, so pumpkin pie soft serve it was!

Pumpkin Pie Soft Serve

Yield: 2 servings

Ingredients:

2 frozen bananas (chopped)
1/3 cup pumpkin purée
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp molasses
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Pinch of nutmeg

Place all ingredients in food processor and process until you get a soft serve consistency, about 2 minutes.  Serve immediately.

We crushed up some graham crackers and used that as a topping- highly recommended!  This literally tasted like pumpkin pie in ice cream form.  So very yummy, and a healthy alternative to your average dessert 😉

Hope you all had a lovely Monday and enjoy the last week of September!  Happy Birthday Steve!! ❤

7 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Soft Serve”

  1. Debbie Hoernlein September 26, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    Can’t wait to try. Anything that resembles “ice cream” and has pumpkin in it is great.

    Happy Birthday Steve!!

  2. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) September 27, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    What a fabulous idea to add pumpkin to banana soft serve!! It’s absolutely perfect for the season! YUM! 😀

    Happy birthday to Steve!

  3. Steve September 27, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    What a great twist to the banana soft serve we love. Thanks for the great pre-b-day dessert!

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 27, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    They had a beehive cake in the cafe I went to at the weekend that looked really tempting. I went for a scone instead though!
    The pumpkin soft serve sounds good – I’m going to make an effort to like pumpkin this season 🙂

  5. sarahsmodernbites September 27, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Love your pumpkin soft serve idea! i think I will have to copy your fabulous idea! 🙂

    What in the world is beehive cake?? It looks awesome!

    • amy41143 September 27, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      I never had it before either! It’s basically two very thin layers of cake with an enormous amount of Bavarian cream in the middle topped with thinly sliced almonds with honey. It must be a german thing, but it is ridiculously good!

  6. Brittany September 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    I am drooling right now..

Leave a Reply

