Healing Food

22 Sep

Yesterday I was forced to take a sick day.  I absolutely hate staying home sick, it is so boring and depressing.  Lay around, drink tea, blow nose, repeat.  All while daytime TV is playing in the background.  I actually feel like I’m in my own secluded universe when I stay home sick – and not in a good way!  I cannot wait to start feeling better and get back to work and working out.  Come on antibiotics, I have things to do!  The only thing I do have control over, is what I put into my body to help kick this illness to the curb.  However, I’m pretty dizzy so whatever I made would have to be quick and very easy.  Here’s the rundown of what I ate on my sick day and why.

Started off with a yogurt with a crumbled apple cider donut muffin in it and a glass of orange juice.  Vitamin C, protein, and whole grains.

I wasn’t very hungry around lunchtime, but I knew I had to eat something.  I decided on oatmeal because it’s hot, easy, fast, and I love that you can throw anything you fancy into oats and make it exactly what you want.  While my oatmeal was cooking, I made some very quick and easy apple cider syrup to go on top.

Apple Cider Syrup

 

Pumpkin Oatmeal

Yield: 1 serving

Ingredients for Oatmeal:

1/2 cup rolled oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill GF)

1 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/3 cup pumpkin puree

1 cup milk (I used vanilla almond milk)

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan.  On medium heat, cook oats for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Apple Cider Syrup

Yield: about 2 cups

Ingredients for Syrup:

1/2 cup turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)

2 tbsp arrowroot powder (can be substituted with 1 1/2 tbsp cornstarch)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

2 cups apple cider

Mix first four ingredients in a small saucepan.  Add the apple cider and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer for about 5 minutes. 

These were some of the best oats I’ve had in a while (at least I think they were, I can’t taste anything very well right now), and this syrup is killer.  I can’t wait to have it with pancakes this weekend.  This meal gave me more whole grains, potassium, antioxidants, vitamin A, omega-3’s, and fiber.

After this, I had some more tea and relaxed the rest of the day until Steve came home.  He brought me a big bowl of vegetable soup and a piece of whole wheat baguette for dipping.  He also made me a spinach smoothie for dessert/to sooth throat.  I don’t have any pictures, but it had fresh spinach, a banana, frozen blueberries/strawberries/blackberries, and almond milk.  It was a very good way to end a bad day 😉

What do you like to eat when you are sick?

7 Responses to “Healing Food”

  1. Steve September 22, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I usually like to eat bad foods but they end up only making me feel better in the very short run. As I am feeling under the weather as well I should take your advice and get my vitamins and nutrition to feel better sooner!

  2. blissfulbritt September 22, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I hate being sick! I hope you feel better asap! Those oats sound amazing! Wowwww. And so does that smoothie.

  3. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 22, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I’m sorry you’re sick! I hope you feel better soon.
    I like eating sweet foods when I’m sick, so cereal and oatmeal is perfect. Soup is also very soothing.

  4. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes September 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Feel better! I always have soup and tea when I’m sick 🙂

  5. sarahsmodernbites September 23, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Holy moly I LOVE that apple cider syrup idea for an oatmeal topper… probably makes a pretty darn delicious ice cream topper too!

    When I am sick I stick to comfort foods like oatmeal, sherbet and peanut butter and banana sandwiches… and gingerale haha

    I hope you feel better VERY soon! ❤

    • amy41143 September 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 You’re right, it would be really good on ice cream too!

  6. spinach&spice September 24, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Feel better Amy! Oatmeal is always a good sick food, as well as soup! Also, applesauce and toast 🙂

Leave a Reply

