Banana Pancake-Cakes

8 Sep

TGI Thursday!  What a week, I’ve been so busy with so many different things it’s insane.  So much for relaxing on my last week of evening-free classes.  Oh well!  Last night I wanted two things: breakfast and dessert (one of those days).  I definitely did not have the time to make a breakfast and dessert, so I combined them and made a dessertfast (it’s a technical term 🙂 ).  I had some bananas and dates on hand, so I used them.  A general rule in this household is to use whatever we have in our fridge and cabinet.  Mr Spreadsheet (Steve), has brought to my attention numerous times in the past few months how much our grocery bill has gone up.  It’s from a number of things like buying organic produce, me not clipping coupons anymore, and just the price of food going up substantially lately.  So the past few weeks, we have been buying the Sunday paper (Steve has taken over coupon duty since he is finished with school now – and it seems to excite him greatly), clipping and filing our coupons, shopping for our produce at farmers markets and making sure we use everything we buy so it doesn’t go bad and end up in the garbage.  Quick sidenote, there is a large percentage of small, local, independent farms that sell at farmers markets and are actually organic even though they don’t advertise it.  Apparently, you have to pay a lot of money to get that “certified organic” stamp placed on your produce, and these small farmers can’t afford it.  So the next time you are at a farmers market, ask how they grow their produce!  Now, onto todays recipe.

Banana Pancake-Cakes

Yield: 4 cakes

Ingredients:

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp earth balance (or margarine), melted

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 egg (I used regular, but flax or chia egg can be used)

2 bananas, roasted (instructions below)

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 pitted dates

1/3 cup milk (regular, almond, soy, coconut, etc)

Desired amount of maple syrup for drizzling on top

Preheat oven to 350F.  Place bananas, with peels on, on a baking sheet and place in the oven for 12 mins.  While bananas are cooking, mix whole wheat flour, baking powder, melted earth balance, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, and milk in a medium mixing bowl.  Set aside.  Break up dates a little with your hands, and place them in a food processor.  When the bananas are done, they will be black – this is normal!  Let them cool for a few minutes and then cut the peels off, and place the bananas in the food processor with the dates.  Process until the bananas and dates become mushy (like baby food consistency).  Spoon the banana-date mixture into your batter and mix until incorporated.  Pour batter evenly into 4 lightly sprayed, medium sized creme brulee dish.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Before serving, drizzle with maple syrup – just like a pancake.

These are like little gooey banana pancakes in mini-cake form.  It hit the spot and made us both very happy 🙂

I have a busy couple of days coming up, but I’m going to have some amazing pizza recipes, and Mexican inspired dishes coming up in the next few posts.  And of course some more sweet stuff that I am very excited about sharing with you all!  I’m also working on an upcoming guest post I will be putting together for Sarah at Spinach & Spice – more info on that to come!  Have a good Thursday!

What do you do to cut back on your grocery bill?  Any secrets you want to share?

10 Responses to “Banana Pancake-Cakes”

  1. cinquecentoproject September 8, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Sounds yummy.

    As for the grocery bill, the only thing I can think of besides what you’re doing now (coupons/farmer’s mkts) is to set a firm dollar amount for each week’s groceries and do not let yourself exceed it. This must be relative to your dining out budget, because you can’t just go out to eat once you run out of grocery money. Instead, dig into those cupboards and get creative.

    • amy41143 September 8, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      That’s another good point- building your “out to eat” budget into your grocery budget. I wish the scanner at stop & shop would shut off once we met our weekly limit! Haha

  2. Steve September 8, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Awesome! As breakfast and desset are my favorite meals of the day, it’s great to see 1 dish incorporate them both!

  3. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 8, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    That recipe looks delicious – bananas and dates are two of my favourite things 🙂
    I should use coupons more often, but honestly I don’t pay them too much attention. I get sent coupons with various loyalty schemes I belong to, but they usually get tossed in the bin!

  4. Brittany September 8, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    I love dessertfast! BEST meal. I try to buy the items I eat a lot of in bulk from places like Costco, or I shop at TJ’s because a.) I work there, and b.) their prices are amazing! If you don’t have either of these options, try buying only what you need for a week of two, and nothing more. No extra goodies (maybe one per person) this way you don’t over buy and nothing gets wasted!

  5. Debbie Hoernlein September 8, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Recipe sounds delicious. I love combining two meals. I think you could eat this dish for dinner. I love breakfast at dinner. As far as cutting down on your grocery bill, we use a lot of coupons. I get them off multiple internet sites and try and use them in conjunction with sales at the supermarket. Loyalty cards help a lot also.

  6. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes September 8, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Yum!! this recipe seriously rocks! As does your blog girl! Thanks for the comment love on mine 🙂

  7. spinach&spice September 9, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Can’t wait for the upcoming guest post 😀
    Your Banana Pancake Cakes look amaaaaazing. I’ve wanted to try roasting bananas since I saw them in Cooking Light’s recent issue with roasted banana pudding! I think I’ll give this a shot instead 😉

  8. Patrick September 10, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Banana pancakes are one of my favorites, but my version is just throwing sliced bananas on top. This version looks much tastier! As for our grocery bill I think all of the other comments are right on. You can also look to purchase things online in some cases. For example, if you are a big coffee drinker who uses a Keurig machine you can probably save a fair amount of money on the K-Cups. Green Mountain has a discount club and provides free shipping on four boxes.

Leave a Reply

