Labor Day Fig Butter

6 Sep

How was your long weekend?  Ready to get back to the real world?  Yesterday afternoon, Steve and I went back to my brother and sister-in-law’s house to have dinner.  She was making tilapia with roasted veggies, so I decided to make something bread-related.  I made vegan whole wheat biscuits, but I’m not going to post the recipe quite yet because I want to tweak it a little.  My brother ate four (literally), so I guess he liked them the way they were!  Anyway, on Sunday we went to Whole Foods, and we found a huge display of fresh figs!  Score!  For some reason I don’t find them very often and have to buy the dried variety.  It was another exciting  ride home for me, brainstorming what I was going to do with them (again, Steve is the best fake listener in the world).  After telling my brother that I was going to make biscuits, I decided to make fig butter.  I have never made a fruit butter before, but it was so easy and came out so good!  If you are a new reader, I am not a vegan but I make a lot of vegan recipes because my nephew has severe food allergies.  I have already learned so much about vegan cooking and ingredient substitutions, and many of them are so good that I use them on a regular basis now. 

Fig Butter

Yield: about 1 cup

Ingredients:

4 fresh figs

1/2 cup earth balance (or butter/margarine of your choice)

2 tbsp turbinado sugar

Cut and discard the stems off of the figs, and cut in half.  Place in food processor and process well until the figs have become a pulp.  Put the processed figs in a small saucepan with the earth balance and turbinado sugar.  Over medium heat, melt and stir the mixture until it comes to a boil.  Remove from heat, place in container, and refrigerate until butter solidifies a bit.

*Note: Some of the earth balance will rise to the top of the container.  After about 2 hours in the fridge, stir it around a bit and place back in the fridge for another few hours.  This will make sure that it is all incorporated and you won’t have a solid layer of earth balance on top.

And the inspiration for the vegan recipes..

* I actually gave him the nickname peanut before he was even born.  I must have jinxed him 😦 so now he is soynut!

Hopefully I will have a revised biscuit recipe on here soon, but in the meantime there is so much you can do with this fig butter.  Toast, english muffins, croissants (that would be really good), mashed or baked sweet potatoes, etc. 

I have one more week off from school because of the way my schedule worked out, so I am very happy about that!  My first class is bowling (it’s required – apparently to be a good psychology student you also have to be a good bowler.  Who knew?).  Steve is more excited about it than anyone.  Boys.  Hope you all had a great long weekend, and getting back to the grind isn’t too painful 🙂

Are you sad that summer is over?  Are you ready for fall?   

9 Responses to “Labor Day Fig Butter”

  1. Steve September 6, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Getting back to work mode was much more difficult than I had expected but with some fig butter on my toast this morning, along with some strong coffee I just might make it.

  2. realfunfood September 6, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I love bowling!!! In high school I wanted to be a professional bowler and that’s all I ever dreamed of. So I signed up for a college with a good bowling team, and when I got there the team was no more for whatever reason. I never found out why, but I ended up sticking at the school and got a journalism degree instead. It worked out 🙂 Also, is it weird that I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a fig??

    • amy41143 September 6, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      I’m so bad at bowling but maybe after this class my skills will improve 🙂
      Figs are really good. Very sweet and pairs very well with cheese! If you can’t find them, look for jarred fig preserves- you’ll love it!

      • realfunfood September 8, 2011 at 9:28 am #

        I definitely will, thanks! And good luck in your bowling!

  3. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    We didn’t have too much of a summer in the UK this year – it’s been like one long fall! I do like it when the leaves change colour though 🙂
    I love figs – that recipe looks lovely

  4. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) September 7, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Oh wow, fig butter sounds amazing! I loveee figs!! 🙂
    I’m sad the warm summer days are over, but I’m looking forward to all the pumpkin recipes fall brings!

    ❤ ❤

  5. Patrick September 7, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    The biscuits may have been a bit bland, but the fig butter was fantastic! I am a huge fan of the Bonne Maman fig preserves (shameless plug for one of the World Finer Foods brands). Thanks for this recipe, I never realized fruit butter was so easy to make.

    • amy41143 September 7, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      Those biscuits may have won the battle, but the war rages on! Fig preserves are lovely with cheese and crackers! I’ll have to make that next.

  6. Brittany September 7, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Ohhh my gaahh yum! Please send some of this to my house ASAP!! I am so ready for Fall!! The crisp air and falling leaves are my fav!

Leave a Reply

