Wolf Inspired Dog Treats

4 Sep

Yesterday we went to Lakota Wolf Preserve out around the Delaware Water Gap.  It was one of the coolest things I’ve done around here in a while.  We saw four different packs of wolves, two foxes, two bobcats, and the scariest spider I have ever seen in my entire life.  The way it works is there are two times during a given day that you can go (because you get an 1 1/2 detailed tour).  Once you park and you get your tickets and parking validated, you can either take a shuttle or hike (we hiked) up a half mile trail to get to the actual preserve.  As soon as we got there, we saw three wolves.  A little girl was holding a stuffed animal wolf and they fixated themselves on it and followed her back and forth.  A little scary.  I should mention that the wolves are fenced in.  Not in a zoo kind of way, more like they fenced off acres of land where they can roam with their packs and live naturally and safe (they are endangered).  I’ve never seen anything like it before.  The entire preserve is run by only a few individuals and they really do a fantastic job, and you can see that they really love the animals and love what they do.

He's actually a red fox

The lady told us that they can tell if the upcoming winter is going to be bad by the fox's fur. She said their tails aren't usually this full until the end of October - not looking good for this winter!

If you are in the NY/NJ/PA area, I highly recommend making the trip out here, it was a lot of fun and very cool.

After seeing and learning about the wolves, I came home thinking my dog was the coolest guy on four legs.  So, I decided to make him homemade dog treats.  To say he loved them was an understatement.  He’s always my cooking companion – waiting for me to drop something by accident, but today I felt like he knew that what I was making was just for him.  When I gave him one, he ran around the house howling (just like a wolf- ironically) for about 10 minutes before he ate it because he was so excited!  I guess he liked them 🙂

Maple-Cheddar Dog Treats Adapted from allrecipes.com

1 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup earth balance (or margarine)

1 cup boiling water

3/4 cup cornmeal

2 tsp turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup milk

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 chia egg (dogs really benefit from chia seeds, but you can use a regular egg if need be)

3 cups whole wheat flour

Preheat oven to 325F.  Bring 1 cup of water to a boil (I used the microwave because its faster).  Place boiling water, oats, and earth balance in a large mixing bowl.  Stir and then let sit for 10 mins.  While this is sitting,prepare chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds, 3 tbsp water) and set aside.  Add remaining ingredients (chia egg last) to oat mixture and knead dough until all ingredients are incorporated and you have a solid dough ball.  Roll dough out on counter and cut out the treats using a cookie cutter (or whatever you have).  Place on greased cookie sheet and cook for 40-45 mins. 

so obedient!

I’m off to enjoy the rest of my long weekend.  I’ll be back on Tuesday morning with a human recipe 🙂  Enjoy!

9 Responses to “Wolf Inspired Dog Treats”

  1. Steve September 4, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    What a great way to feed you 4 legged friend a healthy natural diet all while saving money. These are awesome!

  2. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 4, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    I really wish that I had a dog!
    The wolf reserve looks like a really good day out 🙂

    • amy41143 September 4, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      It was so much fun! We’re lucky to have such a cool place so close by.

  3. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) September 4, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I’m really glad you did because I was able to find your amazing blog through it 🙂

    Wow, that wolf reserve looks sooo neat! I would love to see that! And your dog treats look perfect – love how you made them healthy! My dogs would love them 🙂

    ❤ ❤

    • amy41143 September 4, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

      Thanks so much, I’m glad I found your site too! I forgot to mention that this recipe makes about 3 dozen treats, so it’s well worth the effort. And your dogs will be so happy 🙂

  4. eatinglikeahorse September 4, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    That looks like such a great place; I’d love to go there! Wild animals like that are so beautiful 🙂
    I love your dog treats too; so cool that you used a bone-shaped cutter! And your previous post is going to be bookmarked too… I eat roughly my own weight in ketchup on a regular basis 🙂

    • amy41143 September 4, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

      Thanks! Let me know how you like it!

  5. spinach&spice September 4, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Though I prefer human recipes.. this is too cute! Great idea 🙂

  6. Debbie Hoernlein September 8, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I can’t wait to make this recipe for when my “Granddog” comes to visit.

Leave a Reply

