Ah, The Sweet Smell of.. Ketchup?

2 Sep

Ok, so ketchup does not make your house smell good like this or this. Instead it’s more of a vinegar-y, tomato-ish smell, but the appeal of ketchup does not come from its smell! I have been reading a lot about why the standard ketchup we all buy is so bad for you. In short, corn syrup and loads of sugar. Yuck. A lot of people have been switching to organic ketchup which is definitely better, but let’s face it: organic=way more expensive. In reality, making your own ketchup is not only extremely easy, but it consists of ingredients that we all have on hand at any given time. The only problem is a lot of recipes you find online call for tons of sugar. Honestly, you can’t make ketchup without sugar but 2 cups of sugar in some of the recipes I found was just insane. What I came up with made a ton of ketchup, and I have no idea how long it will keep in the fridge because this is the first time I’ve made anything like this! However, I’ll be sure to update on that in the future. I hope the smell of ketchup fades before Steve gets home today, I don’t want to scar him for life!

Ketchup

Yield: About 5 cups

Ingredients:

12 oz organic tomato paste

1/2 cup distilled white vinegar

4 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp onion powder

1tbsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp salt

2 tsp molasses

1 1/2 cups water (you can add more later if too thick, but it shouldn’t be)

Place all ingredients in medium sauce pan and whisk until incorporated. Put on stove top on medium heat for about 25 mins, whisking occasionally. Remove from heat and let cool on counter. Once cool, put it in whatever container you will be using and refrigerate.

This is so easy and came out so good! I wish I had anything that I can use it on today. We need to go to food shopping desperately, but all of our food stores are still wiped out (as of yesterday). I haven’t tried whole foods yet, so we’ll have to go there later. Until then it will sit, sadly, in our fridge just waiting to be used.

We’re going to try and get to some farms/farmers markets this weekend. We’re also planning on going to a wolf preserve (as I have already stated), hike, relax, and maybe hit up some labor day sales. What are your plans? I hope it consists of good food, good company, and some sleeping in 🙂 I hear Dakota snoring from two rooms away as I type – looks like he got a head start!

8 Responses to “Ah, The Sweet Smell of.. Ketchup?”

  1. Steve September 3, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    You should whip up some sweet potato fries (baked of course) so we can enjoy that ketchup cause it looks great!

  2. realfunfood September 3, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Such a good idea. Doesn’t seem to complicated either! I’m more of a mustard kinda girl, but that’s probably because of all the sugar in commercial brands. I’m sure I’d love homemade ketchup though!

    • amy41143 September 3, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      I’m typically a mustard person too- i just read a scary article about ketchup so I had to try to make it myself!

  3. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) September 3, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I don’t eat ketchup that often, but I love it with eggs and also with fries. This recipe sounds easy, so maybe I will give it a go!

    • amy41143 September 3, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      It’s so easy! You could even make a smaller batch for the specific times you need it because it’s so fast 🙂

  4. spinach&spice September 4, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    GREAT idea on making your own ketchup! My family seriously has a ketchup addiction haha, especially on breakfast sandwiches! And even dipped with carrots? Haha we’re strange, but it’s a comfort food for us

    • amy41143 September 4, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      Ketchup in carrots? Haha thats great!

Leave a Reply

