Ode to Apples: Apple Oat Bars

1 Sep

So, today is the first day of September!  Do you believe it?  I love this time of year (as I have already mentioned) not only for the pumpkins, but for the apples.  Apple picking season had officially started, and I cannot wait to get out there and start picking!  One of my dear friends emailed me a few days ago to ask if I could try and modify a recipe for her.  When I opened the recipe I could see why – it was loaded it shortening and butter.  I pretty much knew the direction I wanted to go with the crust, but the apple filling in her recipe consisted of sliced apples, sugar, and cinnamon – so I knew that I definitely wanted to kick that up a notch.  When I went to the food store, it was apparent that they had not received any new shipments of anything since before the hurricane because the place was ransacked and there was nothing left.  I walked over to the sad apple area, and picked up the last 4 apples that were left.  Luckily, they weren’t in bad shape, but they were granny smith’s which aren’t ideal for this recipe.  Go for a softer apple, like mcintosh.  After a little brainstorming and messing around, here is what I came up with:

Apple Oat Bars

Yield: 1 Amy Sized Serving 12 squares

Ingredients for Crust:

3/4 cup pecans, processed (*for peanut allergies, up the amount of whole wheat flour to 1 cup. you can also add whole rice krispies if you want a little crunch)

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

6 pitted dates, chopped

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

2 tbsp organic brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup rolled oats

1 tbsp earth balance (butter spread), melted

Process the pecans until you get a flour-like consistancy (about 45 seconds).  Add the whole wheat flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and chopped dates to your food processor and mix until dates are processed and incorporated.  Last, add the rolled oats and melted coconut oil and mix until all of the ingredients are incorporated (an additional 20 seconds).  Place 3/4 of the mixture in a greased 9×9 brownie pan and press firmly and evenly across the bottom of the pan.  When finished, take a basting brush and paint the top of the crust with the melted earth balance.  Set aside.

 

Ingredients for Filling:

2 1/2 cups of sliced apples (about 2 large apples)

1/3 cup maple syrup

1 tbsp cinnamon/turbinado (sugar in the raw) sugar mixture (50/50)

1 tsp earth balance

Preheat oven to 350F.  Take your apples and using a peeler or a knife remove the skin.  In a small saucepan, heat up maple syrup, earth balance, and apple skins on med-low heat, stirring occasionally.  While the mixture is simmering,  cut peeled apples in half and core.  Slice thinly and vertically.  Place apples in a medium mixing bowl, and add the cinnamon sugar mixture.  Pour the apple infused maple syrup mixture on top of the apple slices, using a spoon to hold back the skins.  Using your hands, mix very thoroughly to be sure that each apple slice is coated.  Place apples on top of crust, evenly.  Crumble the remaining crust mixture on top of the apple filling.  Bake for 45-50 mins.

I wish you could have experienced the smell of these baking.  It was amazing, I had to find a way to distract myself because I was practically drooling.  The final product was so good!  So.  Good.  Yum.  The apple-infused maple syrup really brought these over the top.  I *highly* recommend making these with the first batch of apples that you pick. 

Any plans for the long weekend?  We’re hoping to go to a wolf preserve on Saturday, weather permitting.  Happy September!

8 Responses to “Ode to Apples: Apple Oat Bars”

  1. Steve September 1, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    That looks great, How fitting for the first day of September, where did the summer go?

  2. Amber September 1, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Where can I submit my request for a weekly goodie bag? All things nonperishable. Let’s say pick up can be once a week…. 🙂 I find it unfair Steve is the only one getting to try all this. After all, I was your bridesmaid…

    See I’ll throw in anything to get a little food sample.

    • amy41143 September 1, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

      Haha yeah once a week can work! But if you move to Princeton you’ll have to come to me to pick it up 🙂

  3. realfunfood September 2, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Perfect fall recipe! I can’t wait to try out some fall recipes of my own!

  4. spinach&spice September 2, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Healthy desserts? Yes please! 😀 Already loving your blog!

  5. Amelia @ princessandthefrosting September 3, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Mmmmm those look so good! I need to try that recipe!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

