Vegan Banana, Zucchini, and Blueberry Bread

30 Aug

Hi!  Steve and I went to my brother’s house on Sunday afternoon – post hurricane.  We drove all around creation before-hand looking for a food store that was open, but had no luck.  We were both surprised by the lack of damage done by the wind (the flooding is a whole different beast).  That was until we turned on a street in my brother’s neighborhood and saw this:

We obviously turned around and sought an alternate route, but not before we saw somebody actually drive underneath this.  Some people are really lacking in the common sense department.  Anyway, when we walked in their house I smelled something wonderful.  My sister-in-law was baking 2 loaves of bread that she modified according to the ingredients she had on hand, and to make it safe for my nephew who has extremely bad food allergies (nuts, dairy, etc).  We had some for dessert and it came out so good that I asked her for the recipe so I could share it.  I’m not sure where the base of this recipe came from, but she made a lot of modifications, so here is what she did.

Kristin’s Vegan Banana, Zucchini, Blueberry Bread

Yield: 2 loaves

Ingredients:

1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/8 cup wheat germ

1/8 cup flax seed

1 cup turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

3 mashed bananas (ripe!)

1/2 cup shredded zucchini (if you are scared of grating your fingers off like I am, use your food processor)

1 large container of blueberries

1/2 cup canola oil

2 tbsp orange juice

cinnamon and nutmeg, to taste (use less nutmeg than cinnamon because it’s much stronger)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease loaf pan.  Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.  In a large bowl, mash up the bananas and add the oil and oj.  Add dry ingredients, blueberries, and zucchini and mix well.  Pour batter into your loaf pan (or 2 if you own 2) and bake for 50-55 mins.  Cool on a rack for 15-20 mins before cutting.

So good!  The bananas really work great at keeping the bread moist without loading it up with butter, eggs, or too much oil.  This is also the perfect recipe to hide ingredients in – for those with picky eaters.  My niece and nephew are definitely not picky eaters though! 

This is the first year that my brother and sister-in-law have their garden, and they have awesome produce decorating their house.

This is not from their garden, but check out the stem on that bad boy!

Back to the bread.  It’s really good.  Go make it!  Also, I have received my first request via email to modify a recipe.  I’m going to work on that sometime this week, so stay tuned.  Even if it’s an epic fail, I’ll still post it so you can see what not to do.  Have a good Tuesday, hopefully you wont be sitting in traffic for hours due to flooded roads like I will be!

8 Responses to “Vegan Banana, Zucchini, and Blueberry Bread”

  1. Steve August 30, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    That bread was great.. with the fall coming I would love to try to change that to pumpkin bread. yum…

    • Amber August 30, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      umm yes pumpkin bread. Aj and I are waiting to go pumpkin picking for fresh pumpkins to make our bread. You three and us three should go pumpkin picking together. And when I say three, I’m including the dogs- of course!

      • amy41143 August 30, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

        Haha I knew you meant the pooches! Dakota hasn’t seen his buddy in a while. We’ll have to look for a dog friendly pumpkin patch.

  2. Patrick August 30, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    The two loaves we made are gone! I would go with twice the number of blueberries and definitely agree that this will make awesome pumpkin bread.

    • amy41143 August 30, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      I agree- you can never have too many blueberries!

  3. Debbie Hoernlein August 31, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Anything blueberries is my favorite. Sounds delicious. Looks very easy to make.

  4. Sarah(everydaysapicnic) August 31, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    The bread sounds delicious! Good luck with travelling back 🙂

  5. Patrick September 1, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Thanks for posting the recipe – glad you liked it, and I know others will too!

Leave a Reply

