TGIF and Dark Chocolate-Coconut filled Oatmeal Cookies

26 Aug

Picture of the sky as I was walking to my car from the food store last night

TGIF!  Even though it’s shaping up to be a doozie of a weekend here in the northeast due to Hurricane Irene, I’m still kind of looking forward to having a somewhat lazy weekend.  Funny side note – My mom and my sister are both named Irene, and this is the conversation via text I had with my sister the other day:

Me:  Stop wreaking such havoc in the Atlantic!

Sister:  Huh?

Me:  Hurricane Irene is going to be a category 4 hurricane!

Sister:  Oh, that’s not me, that’s mom! Haha!

Oh yes, at 27 and 31 we still blame Mom for everything.  Kidding, kidding!  Anyway, last night I took my final exam for my online summer course and now I’m done…. for two weeks.  I made oatmeal cookies to celebrate the occasion.  But not just any oatmeal cookies my friends, dark chocolate-coconut filled oatmeal cookies!  So very yummy, I think I should eat one for breakfast.  I figure if there’s oats in it….

Dark Chocolate-Coconut Stuffed Oatmeal Cookies

Yield: 12 cookies

Ingredients for Cookies:

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup organic brown sugar

3 tbsp earth balance, room temperature

1 egg (flax or chia egg for vegans)

1/4 cup agave nectar

1 tbsp water

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Mix dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and mix using a hand mixer (you can use stand mixer, but it’s definitely not needed with this recipe).  Put  bowl with cookie dough in the freezer to chill up while you make the filling.  The colder it gets, the easier it is to work with.

Ingredients for Filling:

1 cup shredded coconut

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips, melted

1 tbsp earth balance, melted

Put all ingredients in the food processor and blend until mixed and slightly processed.  Take cookie dough out of the freezer.  Make a golfball sized ball of dough and make a deep thumbprint in the middle.  Put your filling in the thumbprint and cover with more cookie dough.  When finished, place on a sprayed cookie sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes.

I highly recommend these, the filling is absurdly good.  You can also add protein powder to the dough to make these a really good after workout snack!  And if you don’t like coconut, try processing dried fruit with a little water in the food processor, or using a preserve (I bet fig preserves would work really well with these). 

If you live on the east coast, stay safe and dry this weekend!  Have a good one!

9 Responses to “TGIF and Dark Chocolate-Coconut filled Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Steve August 26, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    They look great and I am looking forward to eating one after Insanity tonight. And all weekend as we are stuck in the house in the storm!

  2. Irene August 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Mmmmm, I hope you are saving some for me!

  3. Amber August 26, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    What is earth balance?

    • amy41143 August 26, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Earth balance is a butter like spread- like margarine, except it’s vegan. I first tried it because of Luke, but it’s really good!

  4. Amber August 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Oh, and also, can we get a recipe card converter on this site? As a fan I’d greatly appreciate it 🙂 I love oatmeal cookies. Damn storm.

    • amy41143 August 26, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      I’ll have to look into that. In the meantime I’m updating the “recipe” tab every week so you can find every recipe I post on there. Being rained in is the best time to bake! Until you lose power, then you just wasted ingredients for no reason.. Haha. Stay safe!!

  5. Debbie Hoernlein August 31, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    I love oatmeal cookies. Sounds yummy with the dark chocolate and coconut. I have to make them for us.

  6. Debbie Hoernlein August 31, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    OK. Forgot to ask. What is earth balance?

    • amy41143 August 31, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

      Earth balance is a buttery spread- like margarine.

Leave a Reply

