Cornmeal Sweet Potato Pancakes with Corn, Tomato, & Avocado Salsa

24 Aug

I need a shorter name for this recipe.  Any ideas?  Anyway, I want to start this post with a fitness review.  Steve and I purchased P90X about a year and a half ago, and were instantly addicted.  Well, Steve was into it for about 2 weeks and then his schedule became too much for him to commit full time.  Since then, my brother in law purchased a set of fitness videos called Insanity.  Steve decided that he wanted to try it now that he is finished with school for good, so on Monday we started the 60 day program (and last night was day 2).  Oh my goodness.  Honestly, I consider myself to be in pretty good shape, but this is just insanity (pardon the pun).  It is a high intensity, very fast paced, plyometric, cardio workout.  I have done some serious workouts before, but my lungs were on fire by the time I was done!  I know I’m making this sound very appealing right now, but if you are looking to be in the best shape of your life, this is the program to commit to.  P90X is great for people with an already high fitness level that want to take their workouts to the next level.  However, it focuses more on building muscle and less on cardio – which is what some people are looking for.  I will definitely update periodically over our 60 day Insanity journey to document our progress, how we are feeling, and how much our bodies have changed.

*Disclaimer #1 – Neither one of us are employed by, or affiliated with Beachbody whatsoever.  I am just writing based on our personal experience.

* Disclaimer #2 – I am not doing Insanity to lose weight, I just like torturing myself!

Ok, onto today’s recipe!  Last night I was in the mood for breakfast.  Kind of.  I wanted avocado too (my food cravings can be all over the place some times).    So I made Cornmeal Sweet Potato Pancakes with an awesome salsa on top. 

Cornmeal Sweet Potato Pancakes with Corn, Tomato, & Avocado Salsa

Yield: 8-10 small-medium pancakes

Ingredients for Salsa:

1 large avocado, cut up into small squares

2 medium tomatoes, seeded and diced

1 can of corn

3/4 cup of diced red onion

1-2 tbsp lime juice

3 tbsp finely chopped, fresh cilantro

Mix all of the above ingredients in a large bowl prior to making pancakes.  Set aside.

I had to add this picture because I love that my dog’s head is popping up in the background

 

Ingredients for Pancakes:

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup cornmeal

2 tbsp baking powder

2 tbsp turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)

pinch of salt

1/2 cup cooked, mashed sweet potato

1 cup milk of your choice

2 tbsp canola oil

*You can add an egg if you want them to be a little fluffier, but I didn’t use one and they came out fine

Place all dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.  Mix until incorporated.  Add wet ingredients and mix – just be sure to not over mix, this will make the pancakes more dense.  Heat a griddle and grease with cooking spray (re-spray after every batch).  These might take a little longer than typical pancakes to cook, but you’ll be able to tell when they are ready to be flipped.  When finished, plate and put desired amount of salsa on top of your pancakes. 

*Also, sour cream would be amazing on these, but that’s not healthy!  Instead, try a dollop of non-fat greek yogurt.  It really brings these over the top! 

This salsa was so good, you can definitely also use it for fish, chicken, or even pork dishes (if you eat meat).  For the vegetarians and vegans out there, try making this salsa for any savory dinner recipe, you really can’t go wrong!  Have a happy hump-day, and please pray for my poor muscles!

3 Responses to “Cornmeal Sweet Potato Pancakes with Corn, Tomato, & Avocado Salsa”

  1. Steve August 25, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    That salsa is great and makes for great leftovers. Really enjoyed it with grilled chicken and lettuce today.

  2. Patrick August 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    I want some! Best of luck with Insanity!

    • amy41143 August 25, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Thanks! I’m going to need it!

Leave a Reply

