Carrot Cake Oatmeal

22 Aug

Yesterday was about 90 degrees with about 100% humidity.  We both needed a shower after taking our dog Dakota for a walk because it was so gross out – and that was at 9am.  So naturally, I came home later that evening and made oatmeal.  Hot oatmeal.  I can’t be stopped, I guess!  I’m in a major fall food-kind-of-mood this weekend, so carrot cake oatmeal it was.  It actually worked out good because I made a really big batch that will feed us breakfast for the week, in no time at all.  And when our air conditioner is running all night, its chilly in the morning so it makes it a little less weird eating something hot for breakfast.  This is what I tell myself to justify my actions.  Makes sense to me.  Anyway, carrot cake is one of Steve’s favorite desserts so I came up with this recipe last year around his birthday.   

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

Yield: 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups carrots (pureed)

2 cups oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill GF Organic)

2 1/2 cups milk (I used almond milk)

1/2 cup maple syrup

1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 cup craisins

2 tbsp organic brown sugar

3/4 cup shredded coconut

Place carrots in the food processor and puree.  Put oats, milk, and carrots in a large saucepan over medium high heat.  Heat up until mixture is just about boiling.  Add maple syrup, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.  Stir well.  Let mixture simmer for about 10-15 minutes and then add the last 3 ingredients.  Once it is all incorporated, you can either serve immediately or place in a container and refrigerate.  Will keep in fridge for 3-4 days.

I used to never ever use my blender/food processor because it just seemed like a hassle to me.  Now it is something that I use pretty much every day, and it has not only expanded my horizons, but it has also made my life so much easier.  So if you are one of those people who look at their blender/food processor as more of a pain in the butt than a good thing, trust me when I say that this is one of the best kitchen tools ever!  It is not a hard clean-up at all – especially if all of your pieces are dishwasher safe, which most are.  I’m going to be posting a lot of recipes up here that use this lovely machine, so dust off that bad boy and get that motor running!  Have a great Monday!

Do have a fall dish that you cannot wait to make? 

5 Responses to “Carrot Cake Oatmeal”

  1. Steve August 22, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    I love fall flavors and visits to the cider mill. I wonder if there would a way to make a healthy natural spin to Hackelbarney’s cider donuts. That would be my favorite fall food!!!

    • amy41143 August 22, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      I love cider donuts! I would love to try and make them but I need a donut pan first

  2. Irene August 23, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    This recipe sounds really good, and a great way to get kids to eat carrots!
    I like pasta with pumpkin cream sauce in the fall.

    • amy41143 August 23, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Pasta cream sauce! Yum!

  3. Debbie Hoernlein August 24, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I will dust off my Food Processor for this. Sounds yummy. Rich loves oatmeal and carrot cake. What a nice fall dish

Leave a Reply

