Chai Pumpkin Cakes

20 Aug

We were at Whole Foods the other night, and while in the baking aisle I saw canned pumpkin.  I always try and stop myself from making anything pumpkin until at least September, but I just couldn’t help myself.  I love it.  So I grabbed a can and was very excited thinking about what I was going to do with it.  Steve is the best fake listener ever!  So, last night I decided to hit the kitchen and see what happened.  I started off with the basics: whole wheat four, baking soda, egg, sugar, and pumpkin.  I honestly didn’t know if this was going to be a loaf, cupcakes, muffins, or a cake (I probably shouldn’t admit that).  Then, I looked over at my Keurig and saw the chai latte’s sitting in the carousel next to the machine.  I love chai latte’s, and usually only drink them in the fall because the spices are just so fitting for that time of year.  I made a glass and instead of drinking it, I poured it into my batter.  Then I added maple syrup because I’m like Buddy the elf with maple syrup and can put it on everything!  I decided on putting the batter in a brownie pan and see what happened.  I was really surprised by what I got.  It came out so melty and gooey that you can almost eat it with a spoon when it’s warm!  It was definitely a great way to kick off pumpkin eating season in our household! 

Chai Pumpkin Cakes

Yield: 12 cakes

Ingredients for cakes:

2 cups whole wheat four

1/4 cup turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)

2 tbsp baking powder

3/4 of a 15 ounce can pumpkin

1/3 cup non-fat greek yogurt

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup earth balance, melted

1 egg (I used chia egg for the added nutrients, but I will probably use a regular egg next time)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup prepared chai latte (if you don’t have this, try apple cider – that would be good too)

1/3 cup dark chocolate chips (try to go for 70% cocoa for antioxidant benefits)

Preheat the oven to 350F.  If you are using a chia egg, prepare it and set aside (1 tbsp seeds and 3 tbsp water).  Prepare chai latte in the Keurig and set aside.  Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Add wet ingredients one at a time and mix until incorporated.  Add chocolate chips.  Place batter in a greased 9×9 brownie pan.  Place in oven for approximately 25 minutes.  Let cool in pan.

While cake is cooling, prepare the glaze:

1/2 cup chai latte

2 cups powdered sugar

*I didn’t need to use a lot of the glaze.  You can even try 1/4 cup chai latte and 1 cup powdered sugar

Whisk the above 2 ingredients until you get a glaze consistency.  Take a toothpick or kabob skewer and poke holes in the top of the cake.  Take a spoon and drizzle desired amount of glaze on top of the cake.  Cut into 12 squares and serve. 

These are great served warm, but you can also eat them at room temperature and they should keep for 2-3 days.  Today we’re off to a bbq at my brother’s house, and I’m sure that there will be some good food that I will be writing about at some point!  Have a good weekend!

2 Responses to “Chai Pumpkin Cakes”

  1. Amber August 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    How is it possible there is no comment for this recipe. Are you and I the only ones that love fall? Never to early to start incorporating the deliciousness of the season.

    • amy41143 August 26, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      Thanks! It’s the kind of recipe that gets better with each day that it marinates in itself. So good!

Leave a Reply

