Happy Tuesday, and PB&J Muffins!

16 Aug

Happy Tuesday!  It was raining all day yesterday and I found myself in a rut.  I didn’t want to run on the treadmill (boring) because I really wanted to run outside but I couldn’t because of the weather.  By this point, all I kept thinking about was the PB&J cupcake that Steve (the husband) brought me home for my birthday last week.  It was quite possibly the best thing I ever ate.  I do love PB&J’s and I literally ate one every single day for the 4 months that I worked at UBS in Jersey City years ago.  Literally.  That being said, I couldn’t possibly not work out and ask Steve to bring me home a cupcake.  So my mind started going.  What can I make that will lift my spirits today and also not make me feel like a fat piggy?  Whole wheat PB&J muffins.  I was hoping that what I threw together would not disappoint, because there was no time for error.  Luckily, these hit the spot.  And I have enough leftover to have one (or 5) every day for the rest of the week.

PB&J Muffins

Yield: 12 muffins

What you’ll need:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup turbinado sugar (such as sugar in the raw)

2 tbspn baking powder

1/4 cup ground flax (optional)

1 chia egg (or 1 regular egg)

3/4 cup milk (I use almond, but any kind of milk will do)

1/2 cup apple sauce (yogurt or oil will do too, but if you use oil reduce it to 1/3 cup)

1 cup of all natural peanut butter (soy nut butter will work for those with allergies)

1 tspn vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 400.   Place 1 tablespoon of chia seeds in a small bowl and add 3 tablespoons of water.

Set aside.  Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl.  Add wet ingredients (excluding chia egg) and peanut butter and mix thoroughly.  Once chia egg has gelled (about 10 mins), add it to the batter and mix.  Fill muffin tins 3/4 of the way up (make sure you spray or grease the pan and/or muffing liners).  Place in oven and bake for 20 minutes. 

Once cooled, core the muffins and add about 1 tspn of jelly or preserves of your choice (I used strawberry and raspberry preserves) and place cored piece of muffin back in its place, like this:

*Note: If you do not have a corer, you can cut the muffin in half horizontally and spread the preserves across, then place the top back on – like a sandwich

*2nd Note: Chia seed are quite possibly the most nutrient dense food out there.  They have protein, antioxidants, fiber, and are extremely high in Omega-3’s.  Check this out to learn some more.

So good!  And if any of you are unhappy with your current vanilla extract, try this one from Williams Sonoma.  It was $9.99 for 4 ounces, which is really good compared to what you get at the supermarket.  It looks like this:

It is the best vanilla extract I’ve tried so far, and you can order it online if you don’t have a store by you.  Just saying.  I hope you all have a good Tuesday! 

What is your favorite comfort food?  Have you ever tried making a more healthy version?

5 Responses to “Happy Tuesday, and PB&J Muffins!”

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance August 16, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    I’ve heard of flax eggs, but never a chia egg! Great idea 🙂

    • amy41143 August 16, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      Thanks! They can be used in the same way as a flax egg and it comes out so good!

  2. Melissa Jo August 17, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Those PB&J muffins look delicious!

  3. Debbie Hoernlein August 17, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    I absolutely want to try these muffins. They look so yummy!!

  4. Debbie Hoernlein August 17, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    What is a chia seed? And where can I buy them?

Leave a Reply

